Bucknall cum Bagnall, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Bucknall cum Bagnall, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bucknall cum Bagnall, Staffordshire
Bucknall St Mary Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stoke on Trent PLU
Registration District Stoke upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1758; Separate registers exist for Bagnall beginning 1800
Bishop's Transcripts: 1758; Separate records exist for Bagnall beginning 1758
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUCKNALL, with Bagnall (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stoke-upon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 1½ mile (E.) from Hanley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Bagnall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
BAGNALL PARISH (1607) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1800-1901 1800-1901 1802-1901 1802-1901 1834-1900 1834-1900
FREG 1756-1812
1765-1812
1763-1812
FS 1800-1812


IARC 1762-1812
1762-1812
1762-1812
JOIN
1765-1812

NBI

1607-1837
PALL
1802-1812

TGEN 1762-1812
1762-1812
1762-1812

Bucknall St Mary was formed in 1716 from Bagnall and Bucknall chapelry in Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire parish.

Bucknall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BUCKNALL PARISH (1762) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1812-1905
1802-1900

FMP 1758-1900 1758-1900 1765-1900 1765-1900 1763-1900 1763-1900
FS 1762-1855
1765-1834, 1846-1848

IARC 1762-1812
1762-1812
1762-1812
JOIN
1765-1812

NBI

1763-1914
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN 1762-1812
1762-1812
1762-1812

Deposited registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1578-1970 Mar 1765-1996 Bur 1763-1947 Bishops Transcripts at Lichfield Record Office Bap &Mar 1762-1848 Bur 1762-1852

See also the chapelry and district church of Abbey Hulton St John, Staffordshire

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Stoke Upon Trent Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/BucknallcumBagnall/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 424-428. Date accessed: 16 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  6. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Parish Records - Staffordshire Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.
  10. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 4,505 times.