Bucknell, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HerefordshireGotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Bucknell, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

For more information and records see Bucknell, Shropshire.

Bucknell, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Purslow; Wigmore
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Knighton PLU
Registration District Knighton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clun
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Parish History

BUCKNELL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Knighton, partly in the hundred of Wigmore, county of Hereford, but chiefly in the hundred of Purslow, South division of Salop, 12 miles West from Ludlow. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288821.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Bucknell/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 424-428. Date accessed: 22 August 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 September 2014, at 13:21.
  • This page has been accessed 878 times.