Bude Haven, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Bude Haven, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bude Haven, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stratton
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Stratton PLU
Registration District Stratton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1836
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUDE, a village and small sea-port, on the coast of the Bristol Channel, in the parish, union, and hundred of Stratton, E. division of Cornwall, 2 miles (N. W.) from Stratton. there is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Bude Haven St Michael and All Angels is  an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1836 from Stratton, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

Neighboring Parishes

England Jurisdictions 1851 may be used to locate nearby parishes by clicking the "Options" tab and selecting "List contiguous parishes."

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Bude Haven, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1843-1913
1849-1901
1848-1938
FMP 1837-1860
IGI 1843-1860

Records deposited cover 1836-2004, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.

The Family History Library has microfilmed parish registers from 1836-1978. Microfilm numbers can be found at FamilySearch. Parish registers refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 21.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Bude Haven.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438851.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Stratton Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bude Haven in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 424-428 Date accessed: 11 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 August 2014, at 18:52.
  • This page has been accessed 1,420 times.