Buffalo, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Erie CountyGotoarrow.pngBuffalo

Contents

Resources

Cemeteries

LDS Cemetery Records

  • Vol. 1
  • page 41 - Frick Cemetery, Eggertsville (within the town of Amherst)
  • page 82 - Werkley Cemetery, near Sheridan Drive (Buffalo)
  • Because of boundary changes, Werkley Cemetery aka St. John's Cemetery is now located in Tonawanda, New York. Burials are listed on the following sites:

Church Records

  • Records of Grace Lutheran Church, Buffalo, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Directories

A compilation of all known digitized city directories for Buffalo are online at BuffaloResearch.com.

History

Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: Links to history and information about Buffalo, NY.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 858-8900
Email form | blog

Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.

University at Buffalo Archives
420 Capen Hall
Buffalo, NY 14260-1674
Phone: 716-645-2916
Email: lib-archives@buffalo.edu
Genealogical Resources:
Archives and Special Collections of Buffalo State College
E.H. Butler Library
1300 Elmwood Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14222
Phone: 716-878-6300
Email: library@buffalostate.edu
Genealogical Resources: Private papers, Richard B. Morris Historical Papers (well-known historian).
University at Buffalo Polish Room
Room 517, Lockwood Library
Buffalo, NY 14260-2200
Email: library@buffalo.edu
Genealogical Resources: Guides to tracing Polish ancestry, Polish maps, Polish gazetteers, Polish coats of arms, Polish biographies.

A list of local libraries and archives with Polish resources is available online at the Polish-American Heritage in Buffalo and Erie County, New York website.

Rev. J. Clayton Murray, S.J. Archives & Special Collections
Andrew L. Bouwhuis Library
Canisius College, 2001 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14208-1098
Phone: 716-888-8406
Email: delaneyk@canisius.edu
Genealogical Resources: Obituaries, student newspapers.

Frank E. Merriweather, Jr. Library
1324 Jefferson Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14208
Phone: 716-883-4418

Genealogical Resources: William A. Miles Center for African and African-American Studies. This is a a resource center in Western New York for a collection of African American history.

E. H. Butler Library
Arhives and Special Collections
Buffalo State College
1300 Elmwood Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14222
Phone: (716) 878-6300
Archivist Phone: (716) 878-6308
Fax: (716) 878-3134
E-mail: library@buffalostate.edu

Genealogical Resources: Besides College archive materials there is a collection of the "Edward H. Butler Family Papers" and the "Paul G. Reilly Indian Collection" which involved treaties between various Indian nations and with the United States Government. Some of the documents (photocopies of the original) are as early as 1789. Collections

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FHC for Buffalo, New York is the Buffalo New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Societies

Buffalo History Museum
1 Museum Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
716-873-9644
Facebook page

[Formerly known as the Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society]

Genealogical Resources: Research Library holds city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery records, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.
Buffalo and Erie County Library
1 Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
716-858-8900
Genealogical Resources: Genealogy Subject Guide.
BIGS-Buffalo Irish Genealogical Society
Buffalo Irish Center
245 Abbott Rd
Buffalo, NY 14220
Phone: 716-627-2417
Email: EPatton@adelphia.net
Genealogical Resources: The GAAA Library Collection, Sons of Erin Indexing Project, Holy Cross Cemetery Records and Index, local history project.
William A. Miles Center for African and African-American Studies
Frank E. Merriweather, Jr. Library
1324 Jefferson Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14208
Phone: 716-883-4418
Genealogical Resources: Books on African-American topics, Schomburg Clipping File, books on African countries.

City Clerk

Gerald Chwalinsk, Clerki[1]
City Hall, Niagara Square, Room 1308
Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone: 716-851-5844
Email: gchwalinski@city-buffalo.com

Genealogy Records and Resources on the City of Buffalo government website explains how to order Buffalo birth, marriage, and death certificates.

City Historian

Records Center
Phone: 716-851-5431[2]

Newspapers

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Buffalo, New York newspaper images:

  • Blasdell NY Frontier Herald 1956-1966
  • Buffalo NY Daily Courier 1847-1888
  • Buffalo NY Evening Courier and Republic 1862-1884
  • Buffalo NY Polish Weekly Review 1929-1930
  • Buffalo NY Morning Express 1880-1924

Other resources:

Obituaries

City Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Buffalo, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records


Web Sites

References

  1. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.
  2. Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, http://wnyroots.tripod.com/index-historians.html (accessed 15 December 2011).

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 July 2014, at 14:44.
  • This page has been accessed 13,067 times.