Buffalo County, NebraskaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nebraska
Buffalo County
Buffalo County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W| Buffalo County, Nebraska | |
| Map | |
| [[Image:|200px|Map of Nebraska highlighting Buffalo County ]] Location in the state of Nebraska | |
| Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska Location of Nebraska in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 14, 1855 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Kearney |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Buffalo County Courthouse 1512 Central Ave. Kearney, Nebraska 68848 Phone: 308.236.1226 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Buffalo County Courthouse
1512 Central Ave
PO Box 1270
Kearney NE 68848
Phone: 308-236-1270
County Vital Records Telephone: (308)236-1226
County Clerk has marriage records from 1872.
County Judge has probate and court records
from 1872. Clerk District Court has divorce records.
Reg of Deeds has land records. [1]
History
Parent County
1855--Buffalo County was created 14 March 1855 as an original county.
County seat: Kearney [2]
Boundary Changes
The records are in the county record office.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities and Villages
Buffalo County is also divided into some 26 townships
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
- Buffalo County Cemeteries. Most of the county's cemeteries have been inventoried since around the rear 2000 and posted on Rootsweb, There is an alphabetical list of burials, also a list by cemetery. Each Cemetery is listed by name, code, and township and range.
- The cemetery for the Immanuel Lutheran Church is located about 2 miles Northwest of the town of Amherst. It's a small cemetery. Many of the headstones are for people of German descent.
Census
For tips on accessing Buffalo County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Church
Court
Buffalo County houses a District Court and a County Court. The District Court issues writs and orders, collects and disperses child support fees, keeps court records, and records court proceedings.The County Court handles probate, civil, criminal and traffic cases.
- Buffalo County District Court
PO Box 520
Kearney, Nebraska 68848
Telephone (308)236-1246
Website: http://www.buffalogov.org/offices/ClerkDistrictCourt/ - County Court of Buffalo County
1512 Central Ave, PO Box 520
Kearney, Nebraska 68848
Telephone: (308)236-1229
Website: http://www.supremecourt.ne.gov/county-court/county-court-website/buffalopub.htm
Land
- Buffalo County Register of Deeds
PO Box 1270
Kearney, Nebraska 68848
In Nebraska counties with more than 20,000 inhabitants, there is a separate office for the Register of Deeds. The Register of Deeds website has an alphabetical index to Buffalo County Land Patents compiled by the agency.
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Buffalo County, Nebraska for European and African American settlers included:
- Platte River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[4]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[5]
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Probate records are held and created by the Buffalo County Court listed in the County section on this page.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of Buffalo County &columns=*,0,0 probate records 1906-1956housed by the North Platte Genealogical Society in North Platte, Nebraska. As of April 2010 the society has an internet address but no web content.
Points of Interest
- Trails and Rails Museum in Kearney, Nebraska
Taxation
Vital Records
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of Buffalo County &columns=*,0,0 marriage records 1896-1993housed in the Nebraska State Historical Society and the Buffalo County Courthouse.
Societies and Libraries
- Buffalo County Historical Society
PO Box 523
Kearnney, Nebraska 68848
Telephone: (308)234-3041
The Trails and Rails Museum at 717 West 11th St. in Kearney houses their collection. The Society's archives have county atlases for various years, family papers from a few families, family histories, marriage records beginning 1872, probate records from 1872, newspapers published in Kearney and Shelton, naturalization records, school census records, Kearney water companty records from 1887-1893, and more. - Fort Kearney Genealogical Society
PO Box 22
Kearney, Nebraska
The Fort Kearney Genealogical Society was organized in 1978. It has in its own collection, or has access to early school records, cemetery inventories, census and Soundex records, microfilms of the Kearney HUB and other county newpapers, land patents, marriages, delayed birth records naturalizations, early probates, etc. It publishes a quarterly journal titled Buffalo Chips, They are happy to do look-ups in their own archives and libraries and at the courthouse. - Ravenna Historical Society
105 Aba Ave
Ravenna, Nebraska 68869
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Buffalo County, Nebraska page 428, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map II" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap2.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 February 2013, at 15:02.
- This page has been accessed 1,956 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

