Buglawton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Buglawton

Guide to Buglawton, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Buglawton is a suburb of Congleton, in the south-east of Cheshire. It was a parish and an urban district (i.e. effectively an independent town) from 1894 until 1936, when it was incorporated in Congleton borough.

The area of the former parish includes the hamlets of Timbersbrook, Key Green, Crossley, and Havannah, and the Cheshire side of The Cloud, a distinctive hill just outside of the boundaries of the Peak District National Park.

Buglawton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1841 from chapelry in  Astbury, Cheshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Eaton

Buga is a personal name and hlawton means "a settlement".

BUGLAWTON, is a township-chapelry in Astbury parish, Cheshire; on the river Dane and the North Stafford railway, 2 miles NE of Congleton. The post town is Congleton. The original chapel was built by 1840; church the registers of christenings begin in 1840; burials begin from 1839. There are two Methodist chapels.

Other closely associated chapelries also lying within Astbury ancient parish included the chapelries of Congleton St James, St Peter and St Stephen's, Mossley Holy Trinity, Rode, Smallwood, and Somerford; together with several places of worship for dissenters, in the parish.[1][2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241249.

Church records

Buglawton St John the Evangelist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Buglawton St John the Evangelist Parish (1813) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1813-1909
  NONE
1841-1882   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1851-1856   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1828-1928
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of Buglawton parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office call no.: P141/1-3, P141/3215/1, P141/3215/2/1-3.

Buglawton parish registers, 1840-1957 Film
Baptisms, 1840-1957. Marriages, 1841-Feb. 1882.
2149024 Items 7 - 9
Marriages, Jan. 1882-1950. Burials, 1840-1939.
2149025 Items 1 - 5

Bishop's transcripts, Cheshire Record Office: EDB 37

Bishop's transcripts for Buglawton, 1890-1928 Film
Baptisms, 1890, 1893-1894, baptisms, burials, 1928. 1647366 Item 3
Another filming, 1990. 1656840 Item 3

Non Conformist Churches

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Church records for the Dane-in-Shaw Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Buglawton, Cheshire, 1911-1956 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 72/5.

Church records for the Dane-in-Shaw Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Buglawton, Cheshire, 1911-1956
Film
Marriages, 1911-1956.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2299419 Item 1

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Congleton (1837-1936)

Poor Law Unions

Congleton Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 100-104. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed: 8 February 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,584 times.