Bukovina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bukovina, Austria ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Bukovina (Bukowina) is a historical region on the northern slopes of the northeastern Carpathian Mountains and the adjoining plains. It was the easternmost crown land of the Austrian empire from 1775 to 1918. Bukovina became part of Romania after World War I. The region north of the Sereth River was occupied by Soviet forces in 1940 and is now under Ukrainian administration. Southern Bukovina remains within Romanian jurisdiction. It is called Bukowina or Buchenland in German, Bukowina in Polish, Bucovina in Romanian, and Bukovyna in Ukrainian. It is currently split between Romania and Ukraine.
The name Bukovina came into official use in 1775 with the region's annexation from the Principality of Moldavia to the possessions of the Habsburg Monarchy, which became Austrian Empire in 1804, and Austria-Hungary in 1867. Its population grew rapidly as people of various ethnic backgrounds were attracted to the Austrian Empire by its relative religious tolerance and relaxed feudal obligations.
Nowadays in Ukraine the name is unofficial, but is common when referring to the Chernivtsi Oblast as over 2/3 of the oblast is the northern part of Bukovina. In Romania the term Northern Bucovina is sometimes synonymous to the entire Chernivtsi Oblast of Ukraine, and (Southern) Bucovina to Suceava County of Romania.
Immigration to Bukovina
The ethnic composition in the 19th century consisted of Romanians, Ukrainians, Germans constituted 10% of all immigrants (from Bohemia, Palatinate and Wurttemberg, Zipsers from the Zips or Spis county of Hungary, Germans from other parts of the Austrian empire), Hungarian farmers from Transylvania, Poles from Galicia as well as Polish priests, Slovaks, Raskolniki-members of an Eastern Orthodox denomination, Jews from neighboring provinces, Armenians who sought to escape Turkish oppression.
Emmigration from Bukovina
The Canadian province Saskatchewan, the United States, especially Ellis, Kansas; Yuma, Colorado; Lewis County, Washington; Naperville, Illinois, the Parana district in Brazil, Moldavia, Bessarabia, the Dobrudscha, Bosnia and Germany.
- This page was last modified on 26 February 2015, at 15:16.
- This page has been accessed 7,307 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News