Bulley, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Bulley, Gloucestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Duchy of Lancaster
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Westbury on Severn PLU
Registration District Westbury on Severn
Records begin
Parish records: 1673; For more records see Churcham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Hereford; Post 1541-Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BULLEY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Westbury, hundred of the Duchy of Lancaster, W.division of the county of Gloucester, 5¼ miles (S. E.by S.) from Newent. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bulley, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[2]
Bulley, Gloucestershire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DEAN 1673-1784, 1806-2008 1673-1804, 1806-1811, 1813-1957 1673-1784, 1806-2008

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformists and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288773.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 428-431. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
  2. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 7 March 2014. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'

Contributor: Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:28.
  • This page has been accessed 848 times.