Bulloch County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Bulloch County

Guide to Bulloch County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Bulloch County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Bulloch County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 8, 1796
County Seat Statesboro
Courthouse
Address Bulloch County Courthouse
2 N Main St #103
Statesboro, GA 30458
Phone: 912.764.6245
Bulloch County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Bulloch County Courthouse
2 N Main St #103
Statesboro, GA 30458
Phone: 912.764.6245

Probate Court has birth, marriage and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1891 and land records from 1876.[1]

Beginning Dates for Bulloch County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1876

History

Parent County

1796--Bulloch County was created 8 February 1796 from Bryan and Screven Counties.
County seat: Statesboro [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

War.jpg
1864. The courthouse at Statesboro was destroyed 5 December 1864 by Union Army troops of the Second and Third Divisions of the Fifteenth Army Corp. However, most records survived.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Statesboro

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Some cemeteries in and near the Statesboro area are in the Statesboro article.

BillionGraves:

LDS Cemetery Records

US Vol. 5 page 76 - Middle Ground Church Cemetery

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Minutes of Upper Black Creek Church, Brooklet, 1832 members Georgia Pioneers ($)

Court

Genealogy

Mailing Lists
  • GABurke A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Bulloch County, Georgia. (Rootsweb)
  • GA-Roots A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Georgia. (Rootsweb)

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bulloch County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Bulloch County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bulloch County, Georgia:



- 5th Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate), Company E (1st Battalion GA Cavalry)
- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- Military Records - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bulloch County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • Bulloch County, Georgia Will transcriptions at GAGenWeb - free.
  • 1856-1930 - Browsable index of testators of wills. SAMPUBCO- free.
  • Historical Records - Bulloch County:
    Administration and guardian bonds 1831-1931
    Administration bonds 1852-1921
    Bonds, inventories and appraisements, letters, marks and brands, marriages, wills 1795-1890 vol A
    Guardian bonds 1852-1940
    Inventories and appraisements 1874-1927
    Letters of Administration 1904-1918
    Letters of administration, dismission, guardianship and testamentary 1874-1908
    Letters of administration, dismission, guardianship and testamentary 1908-1930
    Letters of dismission 1911-1941
    Letters of guardianship 1904-1947
    Letters of testamentary 1895-1946
    Wills and estates 1816-1927
    Year's support 1878-1924
  • Willis 1854-1861 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • Index to Inventories and Appraisements 1795-1900 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • Index to Annual Returns 1795-1900 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • Index to Inventories and Appraisements 1795-1900 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • Index to Wills 1795-1900 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • Index to Miscellaneous Estate Records 1795-1900 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • Index to Receipts from the Heirs and Other Principals to the Estates Georgia Pioneers ($)

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1795-1890 - Bulloch County Marriage Index 1795-1890. Batch M712241 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1888-1892 - Bulloch County Marriage Index 1888-1892. Batch M712242 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1892-1895 - Bulloch County Marriage Index 1892-1895. Batch M712243 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Bulloch County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bulloch County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15-16. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2014, at 17:06.
  • This page has been accessed 14,539 times.