Bullock County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Bullock County
Guide to Bullock County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Bullock County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 5, 1866 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Union Springs |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Bullock County Courthouse 217 North Prairie Street Union Springs, AL 36089, Phone: (334) 738-2280 Bullock County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate Judge has probate and military records County Commissioner has divorce and land records Clerk Circuit Court has court records [1]
History
Parent County
1866--Bullock County was created 5 December 1866 from Barbour, Macon, Montgomery and Pike Counties.
County seat: Union Springs [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- 1867-1868, 1874-1882, 1929-1954 - Bullock County, Alabama Colored Marriage Books 1-1A, 4, 33-34, 36-38, 40-41 in "Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950," at FamilySearch.org - free.[3]
The following have information concerning African American research. Both should be used:
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Alabama Minorities has information specific to Alabama African Americans.
Biography
Biographies of many notable residents of Bullock County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 514.
Cemeteries
- Thames, Pearl M. Enon Cemetery. 1953. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- Old Confederate Cemetery. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Census
For tips on accessing Bullock County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Year | Pop. | %± |
| 1870 | 24,474 | — |
| 1880 | 29,066 | 18.8% |
| 1890 | 27,063 | −6.9% |
| 1900 | 31,944 | 18.0% |
| 1910 | 30,196 | −5.5% |
| 1920 | 25,333 | −16.1% |
| 1930 | 20,016 | −21.0% |
| 1940 | 19,810 | −1.0% |
| 1950 | 16,054 | −19.0% |
| 1960 | 13,462 | −16.1% |
| 1970 | 11,824 | −12.2% |
| 1980 | 10,596 | −10.4% |
| 1990 | 11,042 | 4.2% |
| 2000 | 11,714 | 6.1% |
| 2010 | 10,914 | −6.8% |
| Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml. through 1960 | ||
Church Records
Court Records
Land and Property
Local Histories
- Black, Elizabeth Griswold. History of Bullock County. 1965. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Military
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Bullard, Karen C. and Annette J. Connor. Census of Confederate Soldiers Residing in Alabama, 1907 in Pike, Bullock and Crenshaw Counties. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Newspapers
Probate Records
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
- 1909-1919 - Bullock County Marriage Index 1909-1919 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
- 1816-1957 - Alabama, Marriages, 1816-1957 FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. Incomplete. - free
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1867-1954 (gaps) - Bullock County, Alabama Marriage Books 1, 6, 35, and 39 and Licenses in "Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950," at FamilySearch.org - free.[5]
- 1867–1868, 1921, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1867–1868, 1921, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1867–1868 "Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1867–1868 "Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1874-1936 - Bullock County Marriage Books 4-32 Index 1874-1936 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry– ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry– ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
- 1909-1925 - Bullock County Death Index 1909-1925 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Voting Registers
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Bullock County has two books:
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Bullock County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 35.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.
- ↑ Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 23:01.
- This page has been accessed 1,653 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

