Bulwell, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Bulwell St Mary the Virgin and All Souls Nottinghamshire.jpg
Bulwell, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1621
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BULWELL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 3¾ miles (N. W. by N.) from Nottingham. There are places of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and another sect.[1]

Additional information:

Bulwell is an Ancient Parish and the church of St Mary the Virgin and All Souls in Highbury Road was built in 1850 to replace the earlier 12th century church which suffered from weather damage in 1843. The church was built from local Bulwell stone and designed by H I Stevens of Derby.

Bulwell St John the Divine in Quarry Road was bult in 1884 as a chapel of ease to this parish and consecrated in 1885.

See also Bulwell wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Bulwell, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BULWELL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Bulwell St Mary

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1621-1901 Marriages 1635-1901 Burials 1635-1900 Bishop's Transcripts 1838
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Bulwell St John the Divine

Baptisms 1906-1945 Marriages 1928-1941

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bulwell

Bulwell, Nottingham - St John the Divine.  Memorial inscriptions on alabaster, brass or bronze plaques, inside the church dating from 1880, to 1983 in alphabetical order.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 91, page 19, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438904.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bulwell in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Bulwell/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 02:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,793 times.