Bunbury, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bunbury

Guide to Bunbury, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bunbury Church and Village Street.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Bunbury St Boniface Cheshire is an Ancient Parish and includes Alpraham, Beeston, Calveley, Haughton, Wardle, Ridley, Spurstow, Tiverton, and Peckforton.
From the eighth century a church has been on the site, initially a wooden Anglo-Saxon church. By 1135 a stone Norman church was present. The church was rebuilt in the decorated style in 1320. In 1385–86 Sir Hugh Calveley endowed it as a collegiate church.

Its features include the Ridley chapel. St Boniface's Church, Bunbury, stands prominently in the village of Bunbury, Cheshire, England. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Malpas. Its benefice is combined with that of St Jude, Tilstone Fearnall, Cheshire.

BUNBURY, is a township, a parish, and a subdistrict in the district of Nantwich, Cheshire. The township lies on the Chester canal and the Chester and Crewe railway, near the Calveley station, it is 3½ miles SSE of Tarporley; and it has a post office by the name of Higher Bunbury, under Tarporley. The parish contains also the townships of Tiverton, Tilstone-Fearnall, Beeston, Alpraham, Calveley, Wardle, Haughton, Spurstow, Ridley, Peckforton, and Burwardsley. There are seven dissenting chapels.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241236.

Church Records

Bunbury St Boniface parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Bunbury St Boniface Parish (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1565-1871
1559-1871
1559-1871
FS PR's 1565-1909
  NONE
1559-1934
  NONE
1559-1922
  NONE
FS BT'S 1588-1868   NONE
1588-1838
  NONE
1588-1868
  NONE
JOIN
1559-1837

Parish registers for Bunbury, 1559-1953 Cheshire Record Office reference: P40/1/1-4, 2/1-5, 3/1-6, P40/3296/1-6, P40/5/1-3, P40/6.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1598-1812, 1813-Oct. 1842.  Marriages, 1559-1765.  Burials, 1559-1649, 1653-1812. BRITISH 2093505
Baptisms, Aug. 1842-1953. Marriages, 1754-1812, 1837-Dec. 1847. BRITISH 2093574
Marriages, 1813-1837, Dec. 1847-June 1940. BRITISH 2093575
Marriages, June 1940-1951. Burials, 1813-1922. Copy of combined early registers, 1602-1681. BRITISH 2093576 Items 1 - 6
Transcript of baptisms, 1602-1643. BRITISH 2093577 Item 5

Bishop's transcripts for Bunbury and Tilston-Fearnall, 1588-1868 Includes the Chapelry of Tilston-Fearnall, 1839-1868.
Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 38
An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1588, 1593, 1600, 1603, 1608, 1610-1618, 1620-1633, 1636-1641, 1658-1660, 1662-1685, 1687-1699, 1701-1742, 1744-1754, 1757-1831. BRITISH 1655425 Item 2
Marriages, 1832-1838. Baptisms, 1832-1868. Burials, 1831-1868. BRITISH 1655426 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Bunbury, Trinity Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1806, rebuilt in 1868.
  • Bunbury, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1876, closed in 1970.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 23
Bunbury Primitive Methodist Chapel Registers1931-67, Various records1902-61
Their website is here.

Other Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1931-1967. VAULT BRITISH Film 2299419 Item 2

Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 297 Bunbury, Trinity Chapel
Date 1834-1937 Administrative and financial records, records related to the Chapel buildings
A chapel was built by the Wesleyan Methodists in 1806. In 1868 a new building was erected and the old one sold.
24 files
RelatedMaterial For christenings 1839-1881 see EMC 16 4 2 (Tarporley circuit).
Their website is here.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 8 February 2013.
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 74–82
  • Clifton-Taylor, Alec (1974), English Parish Churches as Work of Art, London: Batsford, p. 147, ISBN 0 7134 2776 0
  • Bilsborough, Norman (1983), The Treasures of Cheshire, Manchester: The North West Civic Trust, p. 154, ISBN 0901347353
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 26–27, ISBN 1871731232
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 119–121, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 5,118 times.