Buncombe County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png North Carolina Gotoarrow.png Buncombe County

Guide to Buncombe County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Buncombe County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Buncombe County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1791
County Seat Asheville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Buncombe Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Buncombe County, North Carolina Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Deeds
Wills
1913
1791
1913
1800
1789
1794

Buncombe County Courthouse
69 Court Plaza Run 110
Asheville, NC 28801-3519

Court house burned 1830-1835
Reg of Deeds has b, m, d. bur & land records
Clk Sup Ct has div & pro rec from 1832 & Ct Rec[1]

History


Parent County

1791--Buncombe County was created 5 December 1791 from Burke and Rutherford Counties. County seat: Asheville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1830, 1865--The courthouse fires destroyed many court records.

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncbuncombe.png

Cemeteries

BillionGraves (Headstone photos, Google maps, searchable database both by cemetery and sitewide):

Census

For tips on accessing Buncombe County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Baptist
  • French Broad River, near Mills River, N.C. Organized before 1792.[3] Later located in Henderson County.

Court

Civil action papers, 1808-1889. (Free) Browse online at FamilySearch Historical Collections.

Education


Family Histories

  • [Gash] Rising, Marsha Hoffman. "The Gash Family of Buncombe County, North Carolina: Who Was Ebenezer Gash of St. Clair County, Missouri?," The American Genealogist, Vol. 73, No. 2 (Apr. 1998):105-116. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).

Land Records

Land records in Buncombe County are searchable and the deeds are available online at http://registerofdeeds.buncombecounty.org/external/LandRecords/protected/v4/SrchName.aspx

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

-1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
-11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company K
:- 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company F
:- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
:- 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company G
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry,usually known as the Bethel Regiment, Company E
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company B
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company C
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company F
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company I
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company K

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Births
  • 1892-1909 - Asheville, Buncombe County Birth Index 1892-1909. Batch C737348 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriages
Deaths
  • 1898-1909 - Asheville, Buncombe County Death Index 1898-1909. Batch C737348 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Buncombe County, North Carolina p. 507. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. "French Broad Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012; George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:561. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 14,334 times.