Bunny, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Bunny, Nottinghamshire
Bunny St Mary Nottinghamshire.jpg
Bunny St Mary Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Bradmore beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUNNY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe,S. division of the county of Nottingham, 7½ miles (S.)from Nottingham. [1]

Additional information:

Bunny St Mary the Virgin is known as "the Cathedral of the Wolds". For history of the church see the village website Bunny Village The 14th century church restored in 1890-1891 and 1911 has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

The Bradmore Church Rooms have been researched by the Southwell and Nottingham Church History project Bradmore Church Rooms The rooms constitute a chapelry of the parish.

The tower and spire of Bradmore have been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

For history of Bunny Hall and the Wrestling Baronet Sir Thomas Parkyns see Bunny Wikipedia Bradmore Wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Bunny, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BUNNY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1818


Bunny St Mary the Virgin

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1556-1909 Marriages 1556-1901 Burials 1556-1998 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1862<br>Nottinghamshire County Council<br>County Hall<br>West Bridgford<br>Nottingham<br>NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online<br>

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bunny with Bradmore 

Bunny, St. Mary's.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, inside and outside the church dating from 1717, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 57, pages 21-28, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records 

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 431-437. Date accessed: 3 September 2013
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 August 2014, at 15:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,261 times.