Bureau County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bureau County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bureau County, Illinois|
Location in the state of Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
|Founded:||February 28, 1837|
|Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives|
|Address|| County Courthouse|
700 S. Main Street
Princeton, Illinois 61356
Bureau County Website
Bureau County's civil records start the following years:
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Bureau County are kept, see the Bureau County Courthouse page.
Bureau County is named for Pierre Bureau (Belleau or de Beuro) who established a trading post on the Illinois River.
Prior to County Formation
- 1801-1812 - Bureau part of St. Clair County
- 1812-1821 - Bureau part of Madison County
- 1821-1823 - Bureau part of Pike County
- 1823-1825 - Bureau part of Fulton County
- 1825-1837 - Bureau part of Putnam County
- 1827-1831 - Some of Bureau part of JoDaviess County
County Formation and After
- 1837 - Bureau County created from Putnam County
- 1839 - Bureau gained from Putnam and unorganized area
For more information see Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties or Bureau County Fact Sheet (Illinois State Archives). For interactive county boundary maps see Illinois County Boundaries, 1790-Present, Illinois Historical Counties, or For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses
Records and Resources
Past and present of Bureau County, Illinois, together with biographical sketches Harrington, George B. (Main Author)
- Find A Grave, list of cemeteries. Additional information can be found at local level (city, township, etc.)
- Bureau Co. IL USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- Illinois Cemeteries by county.
- Jennings, Harry and George Lindenmeyer. St. Valentine's Cemetery, Bureau County, Illinois. Ottawa, Illinois: LaSalle County Genealogy Guild, 1998. (WorldCat 51518557; FHL book 977.3372 V3L)
|IL Counties 1900-1990|
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Bureau County on page 186.]
- 1872-1883 - Dansk Evangelisk Church, Sheffield, Baptism Index 1872-1883 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C730361.
- 1872-1883 - Dansk Evangelisk Church, Sheffield, Marriage Index 1872-1883 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M730361.
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at Northern Illinois University - search for Bureau County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU IRAD Wiki Page
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
- The Biographical Record of Bureau, Marshall and Putnam Counties, Illinois. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1896. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Harrington, George B. Past and Present of Bureau County, Illinois. Chicago: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1906. Digital version at Ancestry ($); Another Ancestry ($) version; Internet Archive.
- A Brief History of Bureau County also contains a list of Museums in Bureau County.
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University- search for Bureau County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU Wiki page.
- 1800s-Present - Use the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Land Patent Index to obtain original federal land transfer records including homestead, military warrants, and cash entry patents. These records help a research establish location and lead to National Archives' records which may include genealogical information. Earlier land transfer records are housed at the National Archives.
- 1800s-Present - Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales from Illinois State Archives also provides an index to federal land sales.
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
- Bureau County Federal Township Plats
Copies of Original Records
- 1816-1900 Deed Index IRAD-NIU; search for Bureau County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)
- 1856-1878 Swamp Land Record IRAD-NIU
- 1923-1935 Chattel Mortgage Index IRAD-NIU
- 1931-1956 Chattel Mortgage Record IRAD-NIU
- 1949-1959 Chattel Mortgage Entry Books IRAD-NIU
- 1984 Rockford Map Publishers Land Atlas and Plat Book, Bureau County, Illinois, 1984 (Rockford, Illinois:Rockford Map Publishers, c1984) Other Libraries; FHL Book 977.3372 E7b
Civil War service men from Bureau County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Bureau County.
- - 9th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company K.
- - 12th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies H and I.
- - 12th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies H and I.
- - 15th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- - 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I
- - 33rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 52nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 57th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, F, H and K.
- - 64th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Yates’ Sharpshooters), Company B.
- - 66th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 88th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 93rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, C, E, H, I and K.
- - 139th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A, G, and H.
- - 146th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies F and H.
- - 148th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, E, and K.
- - 151st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Companies F, G and H.
- - 153rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company E.
- 1837-1923 Naturalization Papers IRAD-NIU; search for Bureau County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)
Newspapers and Obituaries
A good collection of obituaries and death notices can be found at Genealogy Trails.
- 1837-1900, 1906-1955 Probate Records IRAD-NIU; search for Bureau County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Bureau County are kept, see the Bureau County Courthouse page
Family History Centers
Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD)
The Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), managed by the Illinois State Archives, houses the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.
- Illinois Regional Archives Depository
c/o Regional History Center
Founders Memorial Library, Room 400
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Telephone: (815) 753-1807
Social Groups Online
Bureau County Genealogical Society 629 S. Main Street • Princeton IL 61356 • (815) 879-3133
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Bureau County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University (NIU) - search for Bureau County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.
- 1856–1895 Cass, Mrs. Allan W. Marriages of North Prairie area, beginning with the first recorded minister, 1856-1895 Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1977. FHL film 982434 Item 20
- Bureau County, Illinois Obituary and Death Notices Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From various funeral homes in the Princeton, Hall, Spring Valley, Selby, Arispie, Sheffield, Walnut, Wyanet, Ladd and surrounding area.
Additional resources for Bureau County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Bureau – Vital Records, the Illinois, Bureau – Vital Records - Newspaper indexes, and the Illinois, Bureau – Vital Records - newspapers topic pages of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
- Bureau County, IL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Illinois Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Illinois Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Bureau County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/1/10/Igiillinoisac.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:25.
- This page has been accessed 27,086 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page