Burgh-next-Aylsham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Burgh, Norfolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Burgh-next-Ayslham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burgh-next-Aylsham, Norfolk
St Mary, Burgh next Aylsham, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURGH, a district comprising the consolidated parishes of St. Margaret and St. Mary, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N. E. by E.) from Acle.[1]


Burgh -next-Aylsham St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

A mediaeval church in the perpendicular style. Burgh and Tuttington is a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of Broadland. The parish includes Burgh next Aylsham and Tuttington.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1935
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Burgh-next-Aylsham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
Burgh-next-Aylsham, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1564-1902
1571-1811, 1838-1902
1570-1901
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1563-1902 Undefined 1563-1812, 1838-1902 Undefined 1563-1901
IGI 1563-1778
JOIN
1600-1812

NTA 1600-1850
1600-1812
1600-1812
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD232/1-4

Parish registers of Burgh-Next-Aylsham Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Some records in Latin.
Baptisms, 1563-1651, 1659-1741; marriages, 1563-1650, 1661-1741; burials, 1563-1650, 1661-1741; baptisms & burials, 1742-1812; marriages, 1741-1754; baptisms, 1813-1902; marriages, 1838-1902. FHL BRITISH Film 1951408 Items 11 - 14
Burials, 1813-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 2147114 Item 2

Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms, 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1812; Marriages, burials, 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1812. FHL BRITISH Film 1526779 Item 10

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438850.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Poor law records of Burgh-Next-Aylsham Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD232/16-22.

Settlement certificates, 1737-1824; lists of settlement certificates, 1782-1793; removal orders, 1757-1834, 1781; settlement examinations, 1770-1836; settlement disputes, 1740-1835; apprenticeship indentures, 1750-1837; bastardy bonds, orders and papers, 1754-1792, 1790-1827, 1783. FHL BRITISH Film 2147114 Items 3 - 12

See England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 431-437. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  8. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 4,085 times.