Burgh Castle, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Burgh Castle, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burgh Castle, Suffolk
BurghCastleStPeterandStPaul.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland PLU
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1694
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

History

Burgh Castle St Peter and Saint Paul is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk. BURGH, CASTLE (St. Peter), a parish, in the hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 4½ miles (W. S. W.) from Yarmouth. [1]


  Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Since 1974, Burgh Castle has been part of Norfolk.[2]

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Burgh Castle and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Burgh Castle is in Mutford District. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Burgh Castle, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Burgh Castle, Suffolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1694-1752

FREG 1813-1877
1755-1901
1789-1931
FS PRs Undefined 1697-1796, 1813-1901 Undefined 1697-1902 Undefined 1697-1796, 1813-1931
JOIN
1813-1837

NBI

1698-1901

The Parish Registers begin in 1694.  They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1694 to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Lothingland Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474640.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Burgh Castle was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 431-437. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, 'Burgh Castle,' Wikipedia: the free encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burgh_Castle, accessed 8 February 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,863 times.