Burham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Burham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Burham, Kent
Burham St Mary Kent.jpg
Burham St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Larkfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1627
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Larkfield, Upper South division of the lathe of Aylesford, and W. division of Kent, 1¾ mile (N. N. W.) from Aylesford. [1]


Burham is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling District of Kent, see Burham Wikipedia

Wouldham is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling district of Kent, see Wouldham Wikipedia

Burham All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester; the parish of Burham and Wouldham is a united benefice; the parish church is situated in Wouldham, see Wouldham, Kent .

The Parish church of All Saints, Wouldham Road, Wouldham has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 409-416 at British History Online for Burham The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 399-408 at British History Online for Wouldham

The Ancient parish church of Burham is a redundant church now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust St Mary's Church Burham Wikipedia and Churches Conservation Trust website

The Church of St Mary the Virgin, Old Church Road, Burham has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building see Kent Churches website Old St Mary's Church Burham

The now demolished replacement church of St Mary Burham dated from 1881 but was lost due to structural problems. kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[7]
Burham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1627-1879
1626-1876

FREG 1626-1926
1627-1955
1626-1925
FS BTs 1718-1879 1718-1879 1718-1879
FS PRs 1625-1876 1625-1876; 1756-1876 (banns) 1625-1876
IGI 1625-1876
MED 1627-1981 1627-1981 1627-1981

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Burham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Images for Wouldham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1830


Census records

Census returns for Burham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 437-440. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  7. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 13:56.
  • This page has been accessed 6,448 times.