Burlescombe, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngDevon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Burlescombe, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burlescombe, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Wellington PLU
Registration District Wellington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tiverton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURLESCOMBE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Wellington, partly in the hundred of Bampton, but chiefly in that of Halberton, Cullompton and N. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (S. W. by W.) from Wellington.There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. At Westleigh was a chapel dedicated to the Holy Trinity; there was also a church in the parish in honour of St. Theobald.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burlescombe, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Burlescombe, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1579-1871
1581-1841

IGI 1579-1700s, 1800-1855

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241302.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 437-440. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 19 February 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,908 times.