Burleydam, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Burleydam, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burleydam, Cheshire
Burleydam Cheshire.jpg
Burleydam Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1770
Bishop's Transcripts: 1869
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Burleydam St Mary's and St Michaels was originally a chapelry in  Wrenbury, Cheshire ancient parish and included Dodcott cum Wilkesley and Newhall (near Audlem).

The church was built in 1769 at the expense of the Cotton family of Combermere Abbey.

St Mary's and St Michael's Church, Burleydam is in the village of Burleydam in the civil parish of Dodcott cum Wilkesley, Cheshire, England. The church is some 1.5 miles (2 km) to the southeast of Combermere Abbey. Its benefice is combined with those of St Michael,  Baddiley, Cheshire, and St Margaret, Wrenbury, Cheshire.

Dodcott cum Wilkesley is a civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The hamlet of Wilkesley  lies 2½ miles to the west of Audlem and 7 miles to the south west of Nantwich. The parish also includes the small settlements of Butterley Heyes, Cheshire Fields, Combermere, Lightwood Green, Royal's Green and part of Burleydam. It also formerly contained the settlements of Pinsley Green and Smeaton Wood, now located in Wrenbury cum Frith civil parish. Nearby villages include Adderley, Audlem, Calverhall, Newhall and Wrenbury.

BURLEY-DAM, a chapelry, in the parish of Acton, union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of the county of Chester, 3½ miles (W. by S.) from Audlem. The present chapel, built not far from the site of the old one, was consecrated in 1769.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241248.

Church Records

Burleydam St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Burleydam St Michael Parish (1770) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1770-1909
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1869-1873
  NONE
FS BT'S 1822-1886   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1869-1922
  NONE

Parish registers for Burley Dam, 1770-1958 Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the

Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1770-1831, 1844-1958. BRITISH 2147302 Items 8 - 9

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop's transcripts for Burley Dam, 1869-1922  Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 39

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Another filming, 1990. BRITISH 1656840 Item 4
Baptisms, burials, 1869-1877, 1883-1886, 1915-1922. Burials, 1882. Baptisms, 1878-1879. BRITISH 1647366 Item 4

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Burleydam on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales 1848. Date accessed: 8 February 2013.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 121, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 19:57.
  • This page has been accessed 2,716 times.