Burlington County, New JerseyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
New Jersey
Burlington County
Burlington County, New Jersey genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Burlington County, New Jersey | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of New Jersey | |
![]() Location of New Jersey in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 17 May, 1694 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Mount Holly |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Burlington County Court House 49 Rancocas Road PO Box 6000 Mount Holly, NJ 8060 Phone: (609) 265-5122 Burlington County Website |
Burlington County, New Jersey Historical Facts
- 1681, court established in province of West Jersey.
- 1694, formed by union of "1st and 2nd tenths"
Parent County
- 17 May 1677, Burlington County is the first county created in what is now New Jersey, from the Colonial lands. [1]
Boundary Changes
- 1692, boundary set with Gloucester County.
- 1693, Gloucester County boundary repealed.
- 1710, boundaries more definite.
- 7 March 1837, part set off to form Atlantic County. [1]
- 1838, part transferred to Mercer County.
- 15 February 1850, Ocean County set off. [1]*1857, boundary with Ocean County clarified.
- 1891, Egg Harbor township transferred to Ocean County.
- 1902, parts added from Camden and Atlantic counties.
Record Loss
Burlington County, New Jersey Genealogical Resources
Bible
Cemeteries
Census
- 1745 - Godfrey, Carlos E. "A List of the Freeholders for the City and County of Burlington, and in each Respective Township, taken this 15th Day of April 1745," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 29 (1905):421-426. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains the church records of:
- Beverly: Beverly Presbyterian Church; First Presbyterian Church
- Burlington: Episcopal Church; Providence Presbyterian Church of Bustleton; St. Mary's Hall Church
- Cinnaminson: Asbury United Methodist Church
- Hainesport: St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Medford: Medford Methodist Church
- Moorestown: First Presbyterian Church; First United Methodist Church; Methodist Episcopal Church
- Mount Holly: First United Methodist Church; Perinchief Funeral Home; St. Andrew's Episcopal Church; Trinity Episcopal Church
- Palmyra: Central Baptist Church of Riverton and Palmyra; Epworth United Methodist Church
- Pemberton: Grace Episcopal Church
- Riverton: Calvary Presbyterian Church
- Southampton: Trinity Episcopal Church
- Tabernacle: Indian Mills Charge Methodist Episcopal Church
- Vincentown: Vincentown Methodist Church
- Contains the church records of:
Additional churches:
- St Mary Parish, Founded:1837- Address: 45 Crosswicks St, Bordentown, NJ 08505 - Phone: (609) 298-0261 Fax: (609) 298-7178 - Website: www.stmarysbordentown.org/
Episcopalian
- 1702-1836 - "Register of St. Mary's Church, Burlington, N.J.," Publications of the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jun. 1903):241-302. For online access, see WeRelate; see also FHL Book 974.8 B2p. Includes baptisms, marriages, marriage banns, and burials.
Quakers
- 1685-1730 - "Marriages at Chesterfield, New Jersey, 1685-1730. Certificates Records in the Minutes of the Chesterfield (N.J.) Monthly Meeting," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 9 (1885):347-352. For free online access, see WeRelate.
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
- United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Burlington County (over 1150 entries)
(may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Burlington County, New Jersey for settlers included:[2]
- Delaware River a pre-historic pathway serving as the border between New Jersey and Pennsylvania rises in Schoharie County, New York and flows by the Lehigh Canal in Pennsylvania, Frenchtown, Trenton where river meets tidewater, and past Bordentown in New Jersey, Philadelphia in Pennsylvania to empty into the North Atlantic Ocean.
- Delaware and Raritan Canal 1834 connected New Brunswick, New Jersey on the Raritan River (and NY City) to Bordontown, New Jersey on the Delaware River and parts of Pennsylvania including Philadelphia.
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Burlington County, New Jersey newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Burlington County, New Jersey Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Burlington County Newspaper Notices Index http://www.bcls.lib.nj.us/newspapers/nni/
The "Burlington County Newspaper Notices Index" includes citations to birth announcements, marriage announcements, death notices, obituaries, and other related news items gathered from over twenty-five Burlington County area newspapers and publications.
The oldest citations in this index date back to 1810 and are from the Rural Visitor, a newspaper published in Burlington City, from July 1810 to July 1811. The majority of the citations in the database are death notices and marriage announcements from the mid-1800's and 1910-through the WW II era. Most of the birth announcements date from the 1970's-early 1980's. However, no newspaper in the Burlington County Library System microfilm collection has been indexed from the first issue to the last.
Bordentown Register http://www.bcls.lib.nj.us/newspapers/bordentown/
The "Bordentown Palladium" was founded in 1845 as a weekly community paper serving the Bordentown region of Burlington County, New Jersey, an area six miles south of Trenton. The newspaper was renamed "Bordentown Register" in 1851 and renamed again in 1966 to"Register-News". Over its 160 years of publication, the newspaper has chronicled the history of the Bordentown region, including local news for surrounding towns of Fieldsboro, Florence, Roebling, Columbus, Chesterfield, Mansfield, and Yardville, marriages and death notices, legislative news, judicial announcements, business and social concerns of the area. Of special note is the news of hometown soldiers in the Civil War, WWI, WWII, Korean, and Vietnam Wars and subseqent.
Occupations
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Burlington County, New Jersey Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Burlington County, New Jersey Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
See the wiki page New Jersey Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
Obtaining Copies of County Probate Records
Copies of recorded probate records and the estate files can be obtained from the surrogate's offices for a fee. Addresses of surrogate's offices are found in:
- Eichholz, Alice, Editor. Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. Revised Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry, 1992. (Family History Library book 973 D27rb 1992.) Explains state-by-state history, vital records, census, background sources, periodicals, archives, libraries, societies, maps, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records. Includes county boundary map and table which shows when each county was created and the parent counties.
In addition, copies of the original wills, administrations, inventories, and guardianships sent to Trenton since 1901 can be ordered from:
Clerk of the Superior Court
Records Information Center
P.O. Box 967
Trenton, NJ 08625-0967
Phone: (609) 292-4978
Fax: (609) 777-0094
Repositories
Archives
Courthouses
Burlington County Courthouse
49 Rancocas Road; PO Box 6000;
Mount Holly, NJ 8060
Phone: (609) 265-5122
County Clerk has land and military records. County Surrogate has probate records. County library has naturalization records.[1]
"Welcome to Burlington County, New Jersey"
Board of Chosen Freeholders of Burlington County
49 Rancocas Road
Mount Holly, NJ 08060
- Former seat was Burlington, but when the population moved away from the Delaware River, a new center was needed.
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Schools
Taxation
New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.
- 1684 - Thompson, John J. "A Burlington County, New Jersey, Assessment List, 1684," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 15 (1891):346-349. For free online access, see WeRelate.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Voting Records
- 1739 - Thompson, John J. "'Poll Book of an Election in 1739' Burlington County, New Jersey," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 18 (1894):185-193. For free online access, see WeRelate.
- 1787 - Shinn, Henry C. "An Early New Jersey Poll List," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 44 (1920):77-81. For free online access, see WeRelate.
Burlington County, New Jersey Web Sites
Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.
- The Burlington County NJGenWeb Project, an member of The NJGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Burlington County.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Burlington County. (Backup site)
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Burlington County
- 1810-1980s Newspaper Notices Index (Search)
Burlington County, New Jersey Neighboring Counties
Burlington County, New Jersey Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 464. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook, 847-61.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 15:33.
- This page has been accessed 4,596 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

