Burnet County, TexasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Texas go to Counties B go to Burnet County

Guide to Burnet County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records



Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Burnet County, Texas
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 5, 1852
County Seat Burnet
Courthouse
Address Burnet County Courthouse
220 S Pierce Street
Burnet, TX 78611-3136
Phone: 512.756.5420
Burnet County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, burial, probate and land records from 1852
and court records from 1876; District Clerk has divorce
records[1]

History

The county is known as "the Versatile County".  (1940)  In 1981, the county was named Bluebonnet Co-capital of Texas..

More history about the county can be found at:

Parent County

1852--Burnet County was created 5 February 1852 from Bell, Travis, and Williamson Counties. County seat: Burnet [2]

The county was named for David Gouverneur Burnet (1788-1870). David G. Burnet, speculator, lawyer, and politician, was born on April 14, 1788, in Newark, New Jersey, the fourteenth child of Dr. William Burnet, and the third of his second wife, widow Gertrude Gouverneur Rutgers. David was orphaned at an early age and raised by his older half brothers.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Towns and Cities: | Bertram | Burnet | Cottonwood Shores | Highland Haven | Marble Falls | Meadowlakes | Spicewood | Shady Grove |

History of Towns and Cities from The Texas Handbook Online:

| Bertram | Bethel | Briggs | BurnetCedar Mill | Council Creek | Dobyville | Double Horn | Fairland | Granite Shoals | Hoover's Valley | Joppa | Lake Victor | Mahomet | Mormon Mill Colony | Naruna | Oakalla | Oatmeal | Pleasant Valley | Prairie Point | Providence | Sage | Shady Grove | Shovel Mountain | Smithwick | South Gabriel | Spicewood | Spring Creek | Strickling | Tobey | Watson

Neighboring Counties

Bell  • Blanco  • Lampasas  • Llano  • San Saba  • Travis  • Williamson

Error: image is invalid or non-existent

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources

Individual cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Burnet County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txburnet.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Burnet County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:

  1. Index of Burnet Bulletin, 1898-1913, newspaper events; alphabetical by surname. 
  2. Burnet Bulletin 1874-1880, indexed newspaper names and stories; alphabetical by surname.
  3. Burnet County, Texas Obituary Index -- 1876 - 1910
  4. Burnet Tidbits found in Austin Statesman newspaper, 1887 and 1888
  5. Index of historical articles in the Highlander newspaper; some Llano County articles; alphabetical by surname.
  6. Index of newspaper articles, ranging from 1905-1995; found in library's vertical files; alphabetical by surname.
  7. News Tidbits, from Marble Falls Messenger and Burnet Bulletin, 1874-1938; transcribed from microfilmed newspapers; arranged by publication date.
  8. News Tidbits from newspapers outside Burnet County; dates ranging from 1854-1912; arranged by date.
  9. Pleasant Turner vs. John Lauraine, Texas State Gazette, 1853; notice for Lauraine to appear in court.

Photographs

  • Photo Album of Burnet County people, places, and things.  Alphabetical.  From Burnet TXGenWeb.

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

  • Index to probate records; transcribed from County Courthouse ledger books, dates ranging from 1868 to 1892; alphabetical by name.  From Burnet TXGenWebProbate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records


A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm


Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burnet County, Texas. Page 660 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 14,423 times.