Burnett County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Burnett County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Burnett County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Burnett County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 31, 1856
County Seat Siren
Courthouse
Address Burnett County Courthouse
7410 County Road K
Siren, WI 54872;
Phone: 715.349.2173
WI Burnett.png


Contents

Historical Facts

1856--Burnett County was created 31 March 1856 from Polk and Douglas Counties. County seat: Siren [1]

Populated Places

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

  • 1855 Wisconsin State Census FamilySearch Record Search  Browse unindexed images.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1875 Wisconsin State Census   FamilySearch Record Search  Browse unindexed images.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1885 Wisconsin State Census   FamilySearch Record Search  Browse unindexed images.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 Wisconsin State Census   FamilySearch Record Search  Browse unindexed images.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1905 Wisconsin State Census  FamilySearch Record Search  Browse unindexed images.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.

Church Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Grantsburg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

Maps

Military Records

Civil War
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

School Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Burnett County Courthouse
7410 County Road K
Siren, WI 54872;
Phone: 715.349.2173

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death records from 1861,
burial records, land records from 1856 and military discharge
records from 1919; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and 
naturalization records from 1856; Probate Court  has probate
records from 1856[2]

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Voter Registration

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Burnett County, Wisconsin, p.755

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 7,316 times.