Burnham Norton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Burnham Norton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burnham Norton, Norfolk
St Margaret Burnham Norton Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brothercross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURNHAM-NORTON (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Brothercross, W. division of Norfolk, 1¼ mile (N.) from Burnham Westgate. It was partly annexed to the parish of Burnham Sutton cum Burnham-Ulph, and to Burnham Westgate St Mary. [1]

Burnham Norton St Margaret is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich, one of 124 existing round-tower churches in Norfolk, and is a Grade I listed building. David Jamieson VC is buried in the churchyard, as is Diana, Princess of Wales's great Aunt, Lady Margaret Douglas-Home. Richard Woodget, the master of the Cutty Sark Clipper is also buried here.

Burnham Norton is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. Burnham Norton is one of the Burnhams, a group of adjacent villages in North Norfolk. It is situated, on the A149, some 2 km north of the larger village of Burnham Market, 10 km west of the small town of Wells-next-the-sea, 35 km north-east of the larger town of King's Lynn, and 60 km north-west of the city of Norwich.

For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

The village is located close to the coast, and overlooks the tidal Norton Marshes and Scolt Head Island Nature Reserve.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burnham Norton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Burnham Norton, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1559-1904
1559-1905
1559-1908
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1904 Undefined 1559-1908 Undefined 1559-1905
JOIN
1813-1836

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 419

Parish registers Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Item 28 Baptisms 1559-1665 Marriages 1565-1642 Burials 1565-1649 Item 29 Baptisms, marriages, burials 1653-1725 Item 30 Baptisms and burials 1725-1801 Marriages 1725-1798 Banns 1754-1798 Item 31 Baptisms and burials 1802-1812 Item 32 Baptisms 1813-1904 Item 33 Marriages 1800-1812 Banns 1800-1833 Item 34 Marriages 1837-1903 FHL BRITISH Film 1565274 Items 28-34
Item 35 Marriages 1837-1908 Item 36 Burials 1813-1905 FHL BRITISH Film 1565274 Items 35-36

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812

Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1810 FHL BRITISH Film 1526789 Item 16

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.




Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

1597 Subsidy Taxes: Transcribed by Geoff Lowe and housed by Norfolk Transcription Archives

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 440-445.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:19.
  • This page has been accessed 2,920 times.