Burnham Overy, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Burnham Overy, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burnham Overy, Norfolk
St. Clement's, Burnham Overy Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brothercross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURNHAM-OVERY (St. Clement), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Brothercross, W. division of Norfolk, 1½ mile (N. E.) from BurnhamWestgate. The parish was partly annexed to the parish of Burnham-Sutton cum Burnham Ulph, in the diocese of Norwich.[1]

Burnham Overy St Clement is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

Burnham Overy is a civil parish on the north coast of Norfolk, England. In modern times a distinction is often made between the two settlements of Burnham Overy Town, the original village adjacent to the parish church and now reduced to a handful of houses, and Burnham Overy Staithe, a rather larger hamlet about 1 mile (2 km) away and next to the creek-side harbour.

St. Clement's Church, on the bank of the Burn, is from the 13th century and has a Norman central tower that was lowered one storey in the 17th century. The building was originally cross-shaped with the tower at the centre. After several alterations to the layout over the years, now the large tower divides the church in two and forms a vestry.

Burnham Overy lies between the larger village of Burnham Market, less than 1 mile (2 km) to the west, and Holkham, some 3 miles (5 km) to the east. Burnham Thorpe, the birthplace of Horatio Nelson, lies 1 mile (2 km) to the south-east. According to various letters and documents, it is stated that Nelson learned to row and sail a dinghy at Burnham Overy Staithe, at the age of 10, two years before joining the Navy. The larger town of King's Lynn is 20 miles (30 km) to the south-west, whilst the city of Norwich is 30 miles (50 km) to the south-east.

For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burnham Overy, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Burnham Overy, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1653-1902
1653-1901
1653-1902
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1653-1902 Undefined 1653-1901 Undefined 1653-1902
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 57

Parish registers of Burnham-Overy, 1653-1902 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich. Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD 572/1-10, 12-13.

Title boards consistently state the locality as "Burham Overy" instead of Burnham-Overy.

Marriages, 1653-1724, births and baptisms, 1654-1673 (until 1657, if the child died, a notation was made in the margin next to the birth or baptismal record), burials, 1653-1724, births, baptisms and burials, 1702-1704, baptisms, 1673-1721; Marriages, 1725-1776, baptisms, 1725-1804, burials, 1725-1809; Baptisms and burials, 1810-1812; Baptisms, 1813-1856. FHL BRITISH Film 2149113 Items 14 - 17
Baptisms, 1856-1902; Marriages and banns, 1755-1813, banns, 1754-1830; Marriages, 1813-1901; Burials, 1813-1902; Banns, 1830-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 2149114 Items 1 - 8
Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812

Baptisms and burials 1725-1747, 1760-1764, 1777-1812 Marriages 1725-1743, 1760-1764, 1777-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526789 Item 17

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.


Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk  Norfolk Poor Law Unions England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Parish chest materials of Burnham-Overy, 1730-1863 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.

Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD 572/1-10, 12-13.

Rates, which are taxes, are determined by property valuation, therefore church and poor rates list owners and occupiers of properties. In some cases, they are listed alphabetically by surname.

Parish chest materials which are identified in these records as churchwardens' accounts and/or vestry minutes, can contain a variety of records including accounts, minutes, lists of parish officers, church and/or poor rates, payments made to the poor, lists of charities, donors to special collections, terriers (identification of parish boundaries and properties), description of church silver or plate, copies of wills and various other records pertaining to the history and life of the parish.

Churchwardens' accounts, etc., 1730-1864; Church rate, 1809; Overseers' accounts, 1742-1802, 1739-1743; List of poor (by surname, and number in household), and constables' accounts, 1800-1802. FHL BRITISH Film 2149114 Items 9 - 12

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

1597 Subsidy Taxes: Transcribed by Geoff Lowe and housed by Norfolk Transcription Archives

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Accessed: 11 Feb 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 17:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,264 times.