Burnham Sutton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Burnham Sutton, Norfolk family history and genealogy:' parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burnham Sutton, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brothercross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURNHAM-SUTTON (St. Albert), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Brothercross, W. division of Norfolk, adjoining Burnham-Westgate.There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


A ruined Ancient Parish Church of St Ethelbert Burnham Sutton (see Norfolk Churches website http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/burnhamsutton/burnhamsutton.htm for images) at the eastern end of Burnham was incorporated into All Saints Burnham Ulph, Norfolk parish under the rectorship of both parishes in the 1760's  by  Reverend Edmund Nelson. Edmund Nelson's son was destined to become Admiral Horation Nelson.


These three parishes, with the parishes of  Burnham Overy, Norfolk and  Burnham Thorpe, Norfolk (birthplace of Nelson), form the single benefice, the Burnhams Benefice.

Burnham Market is a village and civil parish near the north coast of Norfolk, England. Burnham Market is one of the Burnhams, a group of adjacent villages in North Norfolk. It is the result of the merger of three of the original Burnham villages, namely Burnham Sutton, Burnham Ulph and Burnham Westgate.

Burnham Market lies approximately 1 mile (2 km) inland, some 5 miles (8 km) west of Wells-next-the-Sea, 12 miles (19 km) east of Hunstanton and 10 miles (16 km) north of Fakenham. The smaller villages of Burnham Deepdale and Burnham Norton are within 2 miles (3 km) to the west and north of Burnham Market, whilst Burnham Overy and Burnham Thorpe are a similar distance to the east. North Creake is some 4 miles (6 km) to the south. The larger town of King's Lynn is 20 miles (30 km) to the south-west, whilst the city of Norwich is 30 miles (50 km) to the south-east. For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burnham Sutton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
Burnham Sutton, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1653-1837

FREG 1653-1901
1653-1901
1653-1900
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1653-1901 Undefined 1653-1902 Undefined 1653-1902
JOIN
1654-1837

PALL
1790-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.




Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 440-445. Date accessed: 17 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 17:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,942 times.