Burnham Thorpe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Burnham Thorpe, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burnham Thorpe, Norfolk
Burnham-Thorpe-church-All-Saints.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brothercross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1553
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURNHAM-THORPE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Brothercross, W. division of Norfolk, 1½ mile (E. by S.) from BurnhamWestgate. [1]


Burnham Thorpe All Saints is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

Burnham Thorpe is a small village and civil parish on the River Burn and near the coast of Norfolk in the United Kingdom. It is famous for being the birthplace of Vice Admiral Horatio Nelson, victor at the Battle of Trafalgar and one of Britain's greatest heroes. At the time of his birth, Nelson's father, Edmund Nelson, was rector of the church in Burnham Thorpe.

The house in which Nelson was born was demolished soon after his father's death, though the rectory that replaced it and the church at which his father preached can still be seen. The site of the former rectory is marked by a roadside plaque.
For local government purposes the civil parish is part of the King's Lynn and West Norfolk District.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burnham Thorpe, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Burnham Thorpe, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1559-1892
1559-1925
1559-1902
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1892 Undefined 1559-1925 Undefined 1559-1902
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 571

Parish registers Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich. Norfolk Record Office no.: PD571/22.

Baptisms, 1559-1661, marriages, 1559-1650, burials, 1559-1649; baptisms & burials, 1662-1812, marriages, 1652-1754; baptisms, 1813-1892, marriages, 1754-1811, banns, 1754-1823; marriages, 1813-1837; marriages, 1837-1925; burials, 1813-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 1565791 Items 27 - 33
Banns, 1823-1913. FHL BRITISH Film 2147146 Item 11

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812

Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526789 Item 18

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.


Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Parish poor law records, 1707-1792 Microfilm copy of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich, England.

Norfolk Record Office no.: PD 571/18

Overseers' accounts, 1707-1792 FHL BRITISH Film 1702277 Item 13

Churchwardens' accounts and rates of Burnham-Thorpe, 1788-1826 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich. Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD571/17.

Rates, which are taxes, are determined by property valuation, therefore church, poor and highway rates generally list owners and occupiers of properties. In some cases, they are listed alphabetically by surname.

Churchwardens' accounts and rates, 1788-1826 (not complete for all years). FHL BRITISH Film 2186443 Item 11

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

  • 1597 Subsidy Taxes: Transcribed by Geoff Lowe and housed by Norfolk Transcription Archives

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 440-445. Date accessed: 17 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,939 times.