Burnham Ulph, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Burnham Ulph

Guide to Burnham Ulph, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burnham Ulph, Norfolk
Burnham Sutton-cum-Ulph Norfolk.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brothercross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Burnham Sutton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURNHAM-SUTTON-CUM-BURNHAM-ULPH, a parish in Docking district, Norfolk; ¾ of a mile S of Burnham-WestgateThe present parish comprises two ancient parishes. The living of Burnham-Sutton is a rectory, united with the vicarage of Burnham-Overy, and with half of the rectories of Burnham-Norton and Burnham-Ulph, in the diocese of Norwich. [1]

Here is a mid-19th century perspective for Burnham Ulph:

All Saints' church, Burnham-Ulph, was originally a chapel of ease to the church of Burnham-Westgate St Mary's to which it was partly annexed and partly annexed to Burnham Sutton (St Albert) which had by 1848 fallen into ruin.[2] By 1870, it became a parish according to the topographer, John M. Wilson and was called "Burnham-Sutton cum Burnham-Ulph" which was because it was united to Burnham-Sutton. However, it also became "united with the vicarage of Burnham-Overy (which see), and a half rectory with Burnham-Norton (which see).[3]

Burnham Ulph All Saints, a parish (amalgamated with Burnham Sutton) is one of a group of villages and hamlets known collectively as "The Burnhams" and Burnham Ulph today actually forms the eastern part of what is now the town of Burnham Market. All Saints' church is situated amidst houses and cottages. The church has no tower and its bellcote is believed to date from the 12th century. The building was repaired by using some of the materials of the demolished St Ethelbert's church which is situated a short distance further to the south. There has been an extensive Victorian renovation but some of the church's original features such as the medieval font have survived.

Burnham Market is a village and civil parish near the north coast of Norfolk, England. Burnham Market is one of the Burnhams, a group of adjacent villages in North Norfolk. It is the result of the merger of three of the original Burnham villages, namely Burnham Sutton, Burnham Ulph and Burnham Westgate.

Burnham Market lies approximately 1 mile (2 km) inland, some 5 miles (8 km) west of Wells-next-the-Sea, 12 miles (19 km) east of Hunstanton and 10 miles (16 km) north of Fakenham. The smaller villages of Burnham Deepdale and Burnham Norton are within 2 miles (3 km) to the west and north of Burnham Market, whilst Burnham Overy and Burnham Thorpe are a similar distance to the east. North Creake is some 4 miles (6 km) to the south. The larger town of King's Lynn is 20 miles (30 km) to the south-west, whilst the city of Norwich is 30 miles (50 km) to the south-east. For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burnham Ulph, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Burnham Ulph, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office Parish Records of Burnham Sutton and Burnham Ulph reference PD 574

Microfilm copy of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich, England.

Item 15 Baptisms 1653-1696, 1716-1755 Marriages 1653-1688, 1721-1754 Burials 1653-1689, 1716-1754 Item 16 Baptisms 1662-1723 Marriages 1667-1722 Burials 1664-1720 Item 17 Baptisms 1695-1725 Marriages 1697-1706, 1723-1725 Burials 1696-1706, 1723-1725 Item 18 Baptisms 1725-1783 Marriages 1725-1754, 1756-1783 Burials 1725-1783; banns 1758 FHL BRITISH Film 1565791 Items 15-18
Item 19 Baptisms and burials 1784-1812 Item 20 Baptisms 1813-1837 Item 21 Baptisms 1856-1901 Item 22 Marriages 1784-1812 Banns 1784-1812, 1850 Item 23 Marriages 1813-1837 Item 24 Marriages 1837-1902 Item 25 Burials 1813-1881 Item 26 Burials 1881-1902 FHL BRITISH Film 1565791 Items 19-26

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812 Baptisms 1725-1765, 1777-1812 Marriages 1725-1750, 1784-1811 Burials 1726-1765, 1778-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526789 Item 19

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.

Military Records

World War 1: "Memory of the Men of Burnham Westgate, Burnham Sutton, and Burnham Norton who gave their lives for their country in the Great War 1914-1918" : Transcribed by Ken Basham and housed by Norfolk Transcription Archives

World War 2: It is memory of the Men of Burnham Westgate, Burnham Sutton, and Burnham Norton.Transcribed by Ken Basham and housed by Norfolk Transcription Archives


Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

  • 1597 Subsidy Taxes: Transcribed by Geoff Lowe and housed by Norfolk Transcription Archives

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius WilsonImperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72}. Date accessed: 17 September 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 440-445. Adapted Date accessed: 11 February 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Accessed: 11 Feb 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 4,005 times.