Burnley St Peter, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Burnley St Peter, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burnley St Peter, Lancashire
St Peter's Church, Burnley.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Burnley PLU
Registration District Burnley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1572
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office
"

Contents

Chapelry History

BURNLEY (St. Peter) a parochial chapelry as of 1562, and the head of a union, in the parish of Whalley, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 25 miles north of Manchester, comprising the townships of Burnley, Habergham-Eaves, Ightenhill Park, Reedley Hollows, Briercliffe-cum-Extwistle, Worsthorn-with-Hurstwood, and Cliviger.[1]

Here is a list of chapelries attached to the parochial chapelry of Burnley:

  • Burnley St Peter - 1562
  • Burnley St James - 1846
  • Burnley St Paul's Lane-Bridge - 1845
  • Burnley St Andrew - 1868
  • Briercliffe - 1835
  • Habergham All saints - 1845
  • Habergham-Eaves - 1837
  • Holme St John - 1742
  • Worsthorn - 1835

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Burnley St. Peter chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPC= Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG =FreeReg
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index


BURNLEY ST PETER Chapelry (1562) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1562-1847 1562-1907 None
LOPC 1562-1887, 1891-1898, 1904-1907, 1919-1926 1562-1875 1562-1822, 1830-1896
LBMD 1837-1977 1837-1974 1837-1897
FMP None 1562-1653 None
JOIN 1813-1837
AC 1562-1653 1562-1653 1562-1653
FREG 1562-1653 1564-1653 1562-1653
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing BURNLEY ST PETER Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Burnley St. Peter and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY PARISH page.


Burnley- St Peter
Baptisms Transcript-1562-1653- 929.3272 B22
Baptisms Transcript-1653-1690- Archives LPRS Transcript
Baptisms Transcript-1653-1690- 929.342764 Bu(456)
Burials Transcript-1562-1653- 929.3272 B22
Burials Transcript-1653-1695- Archives LPRS Transcript
Burials Transcript-1653-1691- 929.342764 Bu(456)
Marriage Index-1813-1837- Rossendale Fiche B26
Marriages Transcript-1562-1653- 929.3272 B22
Marriages Transcript-1653-1688- Archives LPRS Transcript
Marriages Transcript-1653-1688- 929.342764 Bu(456)

For the originals of the above please enquire at Lancashire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306895.

Genealogy

Stott, Brain.  Towler of Colne and Burnley.  Family History of John Towler of Colne and Judith Robinson from the parish of Clapham, marrying in 1761, and their descendants scattered through Yorkshire, Lancashire, and London.  Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine, vol.16. no.1. pages 40-43,

FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles Published in 1887.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 17:35.
  • This page has been accessed 3,814 times.