Burntwood, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Burntwood, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burntwood, Staffordshire
Christ Church, Burntwood - geograph org uk - 172600.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Lichfield PLU
Registration District Lichfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1820
Bishop's Transcripts: 1826
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lichfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURNTWOOD, a chapelry district, in the parish of St. Michael, Lichfield, union of Lichfield, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 2 miles (W. by S.) from Lichfield. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births marriages and deaths. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of  Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Burntwood Christ Church formed 1821 from part of Lichfield St Michael, Staffordshire EP

Burntwood parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
BURNTWOOD CHRIST CHURCH PARISH (1820) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1820-1899
1845-1906


FMP 1820-1901 1820-1901 1845-1901 1845-1901 1820-1901 1820-1901
FREG 1820-1941
1845-1937
1820-1931
FS 1826-1872




NBI



1728-1782

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1820-1941 1965-1976 Mar 1845-1979 Bur 1820-1969
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1829-1872 Mar none Bur 1829-1852

St Anne (Chasetown) formed in 1865/66 registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ST ANNE (CHASETOWN) (1866) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1867-1942

1867-1938

1866-1927


St John (Chase Terrace) was formed in 1884 as the mission church of St John within the Parish of Chasetown, Saint Anne, registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ST JOHN (CHASE TERRACE) (1884) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1920-1968





Non-Conformist Churches

Boney Hay Wesleyan Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BONEY HAY WESLEYAN CHAPEL (1894) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1894-1969






Carmel New Connexion Church (Chase Terrace) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  CARMEL NEW CONNEXION CHURCH (CHASE TERRACE) (1879) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1879-1908






Mount Calvary Primitive Methodist Church (Chase Terrace) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

MOUNT CALVERY PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHURCH (CHASE TERRACE) (1870) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1870-1969





Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1870) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1870-1974





Trinity Wesleyan (Chase Town) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TRINITY WESLEYAN (CHASETOWN) (1868) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1868-1965

Zion's Hill Primitive Methodist Chapel (Chasetown) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  ZION'S HILL PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (CHASETOWN) (1865) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1865-1967



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Lichfield Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Burntwood/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 440-445. Date accessed: 16 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 13 April 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 19:55.
  • This page has been accessed 2,321 times.