Burrington, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HerefordshireGotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Burrington, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burrington, Herefordshire
Burrington St+George Herefordshire.JPG
Burrington St+George Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wigmore
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Ludlow PLU
Registration District Ludlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clun
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Burrington St George is an Ancient Parish part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with neighbouring Bromfield, Shropshire the village and civil parish of Burrington are in the north west of Herefordshire.

The parish church of St George has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Burrington St George

BURRINGTON (St. George), a parish, in the union of Ludlow, hundred of Wigmore, county of Hereford, 3 miles East and South of Leintwardine.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Burrington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288821.

See Herefordshire Census

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.

Poor Law Unions

This parish was in the Shropshire Poor Law Union of Ludlow

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Burrington

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 440-445. Date accessed: 24 August 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 15:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,200 times.