Burrington, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Burrington, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burrington, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brent with Wrington
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Axbridge PLU
Registration District Axbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chew
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURRINGTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Axbridge, hundred of Brent with Wrington, E. division of Somerset, 12 miles (S. W.) from Bristol.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burrington, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
BURRINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1687-1886
1687-1837
1689-1889
MARR
1598-1891

NBI

1813-1878

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474594.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Burrington/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 19 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 August 2014, at 16:37.
  • This page has been accessed 2,577 times.