Burscough Bridge, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Burscough Bridge, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burscough Bridge, Lancashire
Burscough St John Lancashire.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ormskirk PLU
Registration District Ormskirk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1832
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prescot
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BURSCOUGH, an ecclesiastical district, including portions of Lathom and Scarisbrick, in the parish and union of Ormskirk Ancient Parish, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3 miles (N. E. by N.)from Ormskirk, on the road to Preston. Burscough developed originally as a two small farming villages (Burscough and Burscough Bridge) on a low ridge above the West Lancashire Coastal Plain, and has Viking roots — Burh-skogr = fortress in the woods. Burscough (St John) was created a chapelry in 1844[1] .

Burscough (pronounced Burs/co) is a village and civil parish within West Lancashire, in North West England, to the north of both Ormskirk and Skelmersdale.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Burscough chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ormskirk to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BURSCOUGH ST JOHN Chapelry (1848) Indexes
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None 1848-1952 None
ORMSKIRK ST PETER & ST PAUL PARISH (1557) Indexes (ancient parish containing BURSCOUGH Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1557-1837 1557-1836  None
LOPC 1557-1901 1557-1911  1557-1906
LBMD None 1837-1955 None 
AC 1557-1626 1557-1626 1557-1626
FREG 1557-1901 var. yrs 1557-1901 var. yrs 1557-1901 var.yrs


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Burscough and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ormskirk to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ORMSKIRK PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306902.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Burscough on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 445-448. Date accessed: 09 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 4,443 times.