Bursledon, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.pngBursledon

Guide to Bursledon, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bursledon, Hampshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mainsbridge
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union South Stoneham PLU
Registration District South Stoneham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1648; For more records see Hamble and also Hound
Bishop's Transcripts: 1788; For more records see Hound
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southampton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Bishops Waltham with Hamble and Bursledon; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURSLEDON, a chapelry, in the parish of Hound, union of South Stoneham, hundred of Bishop'sWaltham, Southampton and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4¾ miles (E. S. E.) from Southampton.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bursledon, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
BURSLEDON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
PRTS 1657-1715, 1780-1812
1657-1715, 1754-1837
1657-1715, 1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288802.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Whitlock Family Tree. A Family tree starting with Stephen Whitlock, born 1766 and showing all his descendants up to 1983. Some in the parish of Bishopstoke, Bursledon, Hound, Hursley, Soton, Stoneham, and Australia. Article to be found in The hampshire Family Historian, Vol.X.no.2, Aug.1983,page 65, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Moore, Joyce.  A Great Hampshire Shipbuilder.  A photo of the Memorial Inscription on the Parson Vault, of George Parsons of St. Leonard's, Bursledon, where 4 generations of the same family are interred.  A description of the vault, and some of the names and dates buried therein.  Article in the Hampshire Family Historian, Vol.XIII, no.3, November 1885, page 187, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12

Searle, J.H.  A Searle - Full Edition.  A history of the  family of John Searle of the village of Bursledon and his family dated from 1639-1920's, with the following surnames included; fVear, Stratton, Jellico, Judd, Tongs, Court, Cawte and Iremonger. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. 28, pat 2, pages 100-101, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 445-448. Date accessed: 19 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 2,654 times.