Burslem, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Burslem, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Burslem, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Wolstanton and Burslem PLU
Registration District Wolstanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1637
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Burslem is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1849 from chapelry in Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Abbey Halton, Abbey Hulton, Abbey Hulton with Milton with Sneyd Green, Burslem with Dale Hall and Longport, Sneyd Green, Longport, Rushton Grange, Rushton Green, and Dale Hall. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Burslem include: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Independent/Congregational, Methodist New Connexion, Presbyterian, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Association.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Formerly a chapelry of Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire, Burslem St John became a parish in 1849.

Burslem St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG =FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
BURSLEM ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1578) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1638-1891
1639-1890

FREG 1578-1837
1578-1837
1578-1837
FS 1581-1856
1578-1837

IARC 1578-1761
1578-1761
1578-1761
IARC 1761-1809
1761-1809
1761-1809
IARC 1809-1812
1809-1812
1809-1812
JOIN
1578-1812

NBI

1578-1892
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1637-1927 Mar 1637-1946 Bur 1637-1947 (early records are BT's
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1856 Mar 1660-1837 Bur 1660-1856 missing 1673/1675, 1708-1710, 1717-1720

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Non-Conformist Churches

Zoar Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ZOAR CHAPEL (1811) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1811-1830





Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474619.

Poor Law Unions

Wolstanton and Burslem Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. .
  6. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 15:31.
  • This page has been accessed 3,050 times.