Burt County, NebraskaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Burt County

Burt County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


Hand and keyboard.jpg Nebraska
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Burt County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Burt County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 23, 1854
County Seat Tekamah
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Burt County Courthouse
111 N. 13th Street
Tekamah, Nebraska 68061-1043
Phone: 402.374.1955

Contents

County Courthouse

Burt County Courthouse
111 N 13th Street
Tekamah, NE 68061
Phone: 402.374.2955

County Clerk has marriage and land records.
County Judge has probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records. [1]

History

Parent County

1854--Burt County was created 23 November 1854 as an original county. County seat: Tekamah [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Craig
  • Decatur
  • Lyons
  • Oakland
  • Tekamah

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Check Cemeteries in Google Maps

The following links may only be partial listings of the graves in these cemeteries.

Census

In addition to the federal census of 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 Burt County can also be found in several territorial and state census. For tips on accessing Burt County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census. Some of those are posted online:

1854 NE Territorial Census, District 6 (Burt & Washington Counties)

1856 NE Territorial Census for Burt County

Burt County Taxes of April 1872

1885 NE State Census for Burt County

1890-1 Business Directory & Farmer's List of the Nebraska State Gazetteer : Burt County

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Burt County, Nebraska. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

History of the State of Nebraska first published in 1882 by The Western Historical Company, A. T. Andreas, Proprietor, Chicago, IL. Includes a detailed chapter on Burt County. Republished on the web by NEGenWeb Project Resource Center On-Line Library. (Andreas' History of the State of Nebraska: Burt County Produced by Karen Elliott.)

"Burt County Nebraska in the World War, VICTORY" 1919 , published by The Burt County Herald, Tekamah, NE. (Produced by William Wever, T&C Miller with index.)Republished on the web by NEGenWeb Project Resource Center On-Line Library.

"Noteworthy Men of Tekamah and Vicinity", by Ott Brothers, 1905. Republished on the web by NEGenWeb Project Resource Center On-Line Library.

A history of Burt County, Nebraska : from 1803 to 1929. Wahoo, Neb. : Ludi Print. Co., [1929?] Available online through Heritage Quest (check with your local library through which you may have access already to Heritage Quests databases) FamilySearch Books Online

Story of an old town : with reminiscences of early Nebraska and biographies of pioneers by DeMilt, A. P.  Omaha, Neb. : Douglas Print. Co. 1902 [about Decatur, Burt County, NE, chapter 6 is about early Burt County in general with biographical sketches] Available online through Heritage Quest (check with your local library through which you may have access already to Heritage Quests databases).

Who's Who in Burt County, Nebraska, 1940. by Douglas C. Sutherland. Transcribed by Karen Elliott for NEGenWeb Project.

A Craig scrapbook: a story of a village in Burt County, Nebraska by Lang, Russell Clark; Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, c2008 Available online by BYU Digital Archives. FamilySearch Books Online

1884 Atlas of State: Record of County Officials of Burt County, Nebraska 1855 - 1884. Transcribed and submitted by Bonnie Marks for USGenWeb Project.

"Nebraska... Our Towns" contains short histories of the individual towns in Burt county. "Historical Nebraska" is part of "Virtual Nebraska" by the University of Nebraska, Lincoln.

Maps

Burt County website has a group of useful maps including very detailed road, county, and city maps.

Nebraska Department of Roads website lisrts a number of very detailed historic maps.

Neburt.png

Military

Burt County WWI Draft Records and Military Personal transcribed by Bill Weaver for USGenWeb Nebraska Archives

Military Pensioners, 1 January 1883 transcribed by Alice Miller for USGenWeb Nebraska Archives

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Burt County, Nebraska newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Adams - Probate records.

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Burt County Taxes of April 1872

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records 1861-1937 transcribed by Bill Weaver for USGenWeb Nebraska Archives

Societies and Libraries

Lyons Public Library
335 Main Street
Lyons, NE 68038-0198
(402) 687-2895
Oakland Public Library
110 East 3rd Street
Oakland, NE 68045-1356
(402) 685-5113

Tekamah Public Library
204 South 13th Street
Tekamah, NE 68061-1304
(402) 374-2453

Burt County Museum
E.C. Houston House
319 North 13th Street
P.O. Box 125
Tekamah, NE 68061-0125
(402) 374-1505
Email: burtcomuseum@huntel.net
Web site: www.huntel.net/community/burtcomuseum/

Swedish Heritage Center
301 North Chard Avenue
Oakland, NE 68045
(402) 685-6161 or (402) 685-5057

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burt County, Nebraska page 428, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 15:07.
  • This page has been accessed 13,813 times.