Burton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Burton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burton, Cheshire
St Nicholas Church Burton-in-Wirral.jpg
St Nicholas Church Burton-in-Wirral
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral PLU
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Burton St Nicholas is an ancient parish and includes Puddington and Neston. Sometimes referred to as Burton (near Neston)

BURTON, is a township and a parish in Wirrall district, Cheshire. The township lies on the estuary of the Dee, it is 3¾ miles WSW of Sutton railway station, and 8 miles NW by W of Chester. The parish includes also the township of Puddington; and its Post Town is Neston, under Chester. There is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.

Church Records

Burton St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Burton St Nicholas Parish (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1538-1871
1538-1871
1538-1871
FS PR's 1538-1909
  NONE
1538-1934
  NONE
1538-1813
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1900   NONE
1599-1833
  NONE
1599-1900
  NONE
JOIN
1539-1835

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1538-1885, marriages, 1538-1950, burials, 1538-1813. BRITISH 2147304 Items 6 - 12
Marriages, July 1950-1966. Banns of marriages, 1844-1946. Burials, 1813-1993. BRITISH 2147305 Items 1 - 4
Baptisms, 1885-1969. BRITISH 924697 Item 4

Burton, St. Nicholas (C of E). An ancient parish church serving the townships of Burton and Puddington. Registers of Baptisms 1538–1969, Marriages 1538–1997 and burials 1538–1993 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office,

Microfilm copy of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.
Cheshire Record Office call no.: P54/1/1-3, P54/2/1, P54/3/1-2, P54/5043/1-2, P54/4, P54/5, P54/5744/1.    

Notes on the parish of Burton in Wirral
Authors Beazley, F. C. (Frank Charles), b. 1856 (Main Author)Notes Includes index Addenda includes some entries of births, marriages, burials extracted from the registers of Neston, and Shotwick in Cheshire  England. Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.

Bishop's Transcripts for parish of Burton Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester.Cheshire Record Office: EDB 40

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599-1605, 1607-1610, 1613-1614, 1617-1619, 1621-1625, 1628, 1630, 1632, 1634, 1636, 1642, 1658-1660, 1666, 1669-1676, 1679-1685, 1690, 1695, 1722-1725, 1763-1764, 1779-1796, 1798, 1800-1818, 1820, 1823, 1828, 1830, 1833. Baptisms, 1827, 1851, 1854. Marriages, 1825, 1827. Burials, 1825, 1829, 1831, 1893-1895. Baptisms, burials, 1822-1824, 1826, 1833, 1855-1892, 1896-1900. BRITISH 1655426 Item 2

The parish has been transcribed and online entries can be found at Cheshire Parish Register project

Non-Conformist Churches

Church records of Puddington Hall Catholic Chapel, 1783-1892
Authors Catholic Church. Puddington Hall Chapel (Puddington, Cheshire) 

Notes Microfilm copy of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.
Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 6/5072/1-3.Mostly Latin.Puddington is a village and a township in Burton parish.

Baptisms and marriages, 1783-1858 (in Latin). Baptisms, 1859-1892. Marriages, 1880-1883. FHL BRITISH Film 2197775 Items 9 - 11

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Wirral (1837–1974)
  •  Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire West (post 1998) 

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Burton (near Neston) on GENUKI

Burton (near Tarvin) on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1872. Date accessed: 8 February 2013.
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 20:08.
  • This page has been accessed 3,013 times.