Burton Joyce, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes


Burton Joyce, Nottinghamshire
Burton Joyce St Helen Nottinghamshire.jpg
Burton Joyce St Helen Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford; Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURTON-JOYCE (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 5miles (N. E. by E.) from Nottingham with the chapelry of Bulcote. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Burton Joyce St Helen is an Ancient parish; Bulcote, Nottinghamshire was formed originally as a chapelry of this parish.

The church of St Helen dates in part from the 13th century and was rebuilt in 1878 by T.H. Wyatt and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage. British listed building
see also Burton Joyce Wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Burton Joyce, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BURTON JOYCE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


Burton Joyce St Helen

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1559-1901 Marriages 1559-1900 Burials 1561-1901 Bishop's transcripts 1600-1866 Nottinghamshire County Council County Hall West Bridgford Nottingham NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Burton Joyce

Burton Joyce Monumental Inscriptions. An alphabetical listing by surname, given name, date of death, and sometimes showing relationship, and age - transcription of the Burton Joyce Gravestones, dated from 1730 both inside and outside the Church. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 18, pages 18-22, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Website

Butyon Joyce (Burton Jorce) in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/BurtonJoyce/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 02:13.
  • This page has been accessed 2,535 times.