Burton Wood, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Burton Wood, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burton Wood, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Warrington PLU
Registration District Warrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1668
Bishop's Transcripts: 1682
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winwick
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURTONWOOD, (St. Michael) a chapelry, created in 1668, in the parish and union of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 5 miles (N. W.) from Warrington.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Burtonwood chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Warrington St. Elphin to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
CBMD = CheshireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BURTONWOOD ST MICHAEL AND ALL ANGELS Chapelry  (1629) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1668-1918 1722-1936 1629-1931
LOPC 1668-1837, 1841-1876 1683-1750 1784-1837, 1841-1876
CBMD None 1879-1933 None
AC 1668-1837 1668-1837 1668-1837
FREG 1668-1922 None 1783-1931
WARRINGTON ST ELPHIN PARISH (1591) Indexes (ancient parish containing BURTONWOOD Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1591-1907 1614-1877 1727-1990
LOPC 1680-1701, 1733-1847 1591-1837 1699-1854
CBMD 1837-1912 1837-1933 1837-1910
FMP None 1746 None
AC 1591-1706 1591-1706 1591-1706
FREG 1780-1781 None 1780-1787


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Burtonwood and comprising the whole ancient parish of Warrington St. Elphin to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WARRINGTON ST ELPHIN PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306907.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 452-460.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,995 times.