Burton upon Trent Christ Church, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Burton upon Trent Christ Church, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burton upon Trent Christ Church, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tutbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Burton on Trent
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Burton upon Trent Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1825 from Burton upon Trent St Modwen, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Branston. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Burton upon Trent Christ Church was formed 1845 from part of Burton upon Trent St Modwen, Staffordshire and included Branston township

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1844-1951 Mar 1860-1946 Bur No burial Ground
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1824-1899 Mar none Bur 1826-1871

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/BurtonuponTrent/index.html

Reference


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 August 2014, at 20:57.
  • This page has been accessed 2,360 times.