Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow; Repton and Gresley
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1824
Bishop's Transcripts: 1824
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tutbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Burton upon Trent
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURTON-UPON-TRENT (St. Mary and St. Modwena), a parish, and the head of a union, partly in the N. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, and partly in the hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby; comprising the township of Winshill, in Derbyshire, and the townships of Branson, Burton-Extra, Horninglow, and Stretton. A church was built at Stretton in 1829. There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in Derbyshire and partly in Staffordshire; Created in 1825 from Burton upon Trent [St Mowden] Ancient Parish (Staffordshire). Other places in the parish include: Horninglow, Stretton near Burton upon Trent, and Strettone. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity include: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and Independent/Congregational.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity was fromed in 1825 from part of Burton upon Trent St Modwen, Staffordshire and parts of Horninglow, Stretton and Winshill,Staffordshire Ecclesiastical parishes. Abolished in 1969 and returned to Burton upon Trent St Modwen, Staffordshire

Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
BURTON UPON TRENT HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1601) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1901 1538-1901 1544-1901 1544-1901 1538-1901 1538-1901
FS 1824-1875   NONE
NONE   NONE
NONE   NONE
NBI

1601-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1824-1968 Mar 1844-1969 Bur 1826-1929
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1824-1889 Mar none Bur 1826-1871

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/BurtonuponTrent/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 452-460. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 August 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 5,024 times.