Burton with Coates, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Guide to Burton with Coates, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burton with Coates, Sussex
St Agatha Coates West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bury; Rotherbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Sutton PLU
Registration District Chichester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURTON, or Bodexton, a parish in Chichester district, Sussex; on the river Rother and the Arundel canal, near the Mid-Sussex railway, 3 miles SSW of Petworth.[1]

Coates St Agatha (with Burton) is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex.

A history of the Church is available Coates St Agatha (with Burton)

Burton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also:

Coates Wikipedia and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 445-448. here

The church within Burton Park survives the house was for many years used at a girls boarding school but has since been converted to private residential housing.

Burton Park West Sussex.jpg

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Coates like this:

COATES, a parish in Chichester district, Sussex; on the river Rother, near the Mid Sussex railway, 2 miles SSE of Petworth. Post town, Petworth. Acres, 345. Real property, £680. Pop., 78. Houses, 15. The property belongs chiefly to one. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to the rectory of Burton, in the diocese of Chichester. The church is early English, and has a spire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district

Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Burton with Coates, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Burton with Coates, Sussex Parish Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1559-1886 1561-1880
PRTS 1559-1906 1561-1754, 1820-1832, 1838-1907 1562-1784, 1813-1911
SOPC Undefined Undefined

Coates St Agatha parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Coates St Agatha Parish Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SOPC Undefined Undefined

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1559-1999 Marr 1561-1774, 1820-1897 Bur 1562-1991

Bishop's Transcripts 1592-1878
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Burton with Coates

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 2,266 times.