Burwardsley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Burwardsley

Guide to Burwardsley, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St John's Church, Burwardsley Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Burwardsley St John The Evangelist Cheshire was formed as a chapelry of Bunbury Ancient Parish  in 1767 and later became an ecclesiastical parish in 1818.

The church originated in the 17th century. It has a buttress dated 1730 and the church was restored in 1795.

St John's Church, Burwardsley is in the village of Burwardsley, Cheshire, England. Its benefice is combined with those of Holy Trinity, Bickerton, St Wenefrede, Bickley, and All Saints,  Harthill, Cheshire.

Burwardsley is a village and civil parish the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The parish also includes the small villages of Burwardsley, Burwardsley Hill, Higher Burwardsley.

BURWARDSLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of Bunbury, union of Nantwich, Higher division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, 2 miles (S. E. by S.) from Tattenhall. The Tattenhall station of the Chester and Crewe railway is distant about three miles only. The chapel, dedicated to St. John, erected by subscription in 1735. The Primitive Methodists have a place of worship.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church Records

Burwardsley St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Burwardsley St John Parish (1818) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1819-1894
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1846-1936
  NONE
FS BT'S 1818-1884   NONE
1847-1847
  NONE
1877-1884
  NONE

Parish registers, 1818-1936 Formerly a chapelry in the parish of Bunbury. Cheshire Record Office reference: P110/1/1-3.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online  at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms 1818-1845. BRITISH 1656229 Item 11
Baptisms 1845-1894. BRITISH 1656229 Item 11
Burials, 1846-1936. BRITISH 2068902 Item 3

Bishop's transcripts for Burwardsley, 1818-1884 Formerly a chapelry in Bunbury parish.Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 41

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1818-1838, 1840-1847, 1877-1884. Baptisms, 1839, 1851-1855. Marriages, 1841. BRITISH 1647366 Item 5
Another filming, 1990. BRITISH 1656840 Item 5

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Non-Conformist Churches

Burwardsley, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1843.
Non-Conformist Records:

Church records for the Primitive Methodist Chapel, Burwardsley, 1918-1958 Burwardsley is a township-chapelry in Bunbury parish.Cheshire Record Office reference number: EMS 23/1.

Other Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1918-1958. VAULT BRITISH 2299419 Item 3

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Nantwich (1837–92)
  • Chester (1892–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topigraphical Dictionary of England and Wales 1848, adapted 8 February 2013

Bibliography

Hubbard, Edward (1991). The Work of John Douglas. London: The Victorian Society. ISBN 0 901657 16 6. pp139,242


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 5,104 times.