Bury St John, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Bury St John, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bury St John, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn; Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bury PLU
Registration District Bury; Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bury (St John) was created as a chapelry of ease in the year 1770 from Bury St Mary Ancient Parish. The township is SE. Lancashire, 11 miles NW. of Manchester and 195 NW. of London by rail. Bury is connected by canal with Manchester and Bolton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Bury St. John's chapelry and its sister chapelries' registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which they were attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg
BURY ST JOHN Chapelry  (1770) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1821-1906 1821-1874
FS 1785-1829, 1846-1852 None 1785-1812, 1819-1867
LOPC 1770-1859, 1879-1906 None 1784-1855
LBMD None 1861-1900 None
FREG 1820-1826 None 1843-1855
BURY ST MARY PARISH (1590) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1590-1909 1591-1935 1785-1976
LOPC 1699-1844 1591-1849, 1860-1861 1699-1728, 1739-1748, 1759-1837
LBMD None 1837-1900 None
FMP None 1598-1760 None
AC 1590-1698 1590-1698 1590-1698
FREG 1590-1698, 1817-1846 1591-1646 1591-1699
BURY ST PAUL Chapelry  (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1841-1868 1877-1909 1843-1853, 1862-1868
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1851-1900 None
BURY HOLY TRINITY Chapelry  (1865) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1865-1881 1866-1880 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1866-1900 None
EDENFIELD Chapelry  (1728) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1728-1771, 1798-1845, 1857-1877 None 1774-1820
LOPC 1731-1845, 1857-1877 None 1774-1845, 1856-1877
LBMD None 1838-2007 1837-1861
ELTON ALL SAINTS Chapelry  (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1858-1867 None 1844-1846, 1858-1867
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1889 1844-1900 1837-1888
HEYWOOD ST LUKE Chapelry  (1731) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1731-1910 1837-1895 1765-1870
LOPC 1829-1842 None None
LBMD 1837-1940 1837-1925 1837-1974
HEYWOOD ST JAMES Chapelry  (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1841-1925 None
HOLCOMBE EMMANUEL Chapelry  (1730) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1797-1860 1850-1860 1853-1860
LOPC 1730-1860 1850-1860 1730-1902
LBMD 1837-1895 1837-1900 1837-1890
FREG None None 1846-1852
RAMSBOTTOM ST PAUL Chapelry  (1850) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1850-1854 None 1851-1854
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1899-1901 1850-1900 None
TOTTINGTON ST ANNE Chapelry  (1799) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1752-1754, 1770-1862 None 1791-1862
LOPC 1799-1838 None 1799-1838
LBMD 1837-1910 1862-1900 1837-1885
AC 1799-1837 None 1799-1837
UNSWORTH ST GEORGE Chapelry  (1730) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1730-1910 None None
LOPC 1841-1891 None None
LBMD None 1844-1900 None
WALMERSLEY CUM SHUTTLEWORTH CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry  (1785) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1785-1812, 1838-1842, 1860-1864 1785-1812 1785-1812, 1838-1841, 1858
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1898 1852-1900 1837-1877
WATERFOOT ST JAMES Chapelry  (1860) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1859-1914 1866-1930
FS 1860-1907 1866-1929 None
LBMD None 1866-1996 None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Bury St. John and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BURY ST MARY PARISH page.

Original Records in Archives

Original parish and chapelry registers are held in the Manchester Archives and Studies centre in Manchester Central Library, St Peter's Square, Manchester, M2 2PD. Also, microfilm copies of these original registers are held at the Family Hsitory Library in Salt Lake City, UT, USA. See the Family History Library online Catalog for further details about their holdings.

|}

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306922.

Genealogy

Hirst, Rita. Holt or Tabernacle.  Family History and Family History chart of Tabernacle or Holt in Bury, Lancashire. Article covers years 1600-1834 with the following surnames; Barlow, Harrison, Hargraves, Showell, Drovin, Burkett, Johnston, and is found in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. vol. 17 no.3. page 25-3, held at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City 942.72 B2r

Hornby, Michael J. K. Direct Descendants of James Hornby.  History, photo and family tree of James Hornby and Alice Mills dated from 1799-1995 with part of the family emigrating to Canada. Artice in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. vol. 18, no.2, pages 23-25, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Todd, Andrew A. Lowe of Heaton and Hinds. History and Family tree of Lowe of Heaton and Elton starting with Robert Lowe marrying 1. Alice Yates, and 2. Hannah Walls, dating 1784-1860, with the following surnames, Barlow, Wade, Nuttall, Garside, Settle, Blomley, Griffiths, Ogden, Blomley, Rushton, Pemberton. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine. vol.5,no.3,pages16-20, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r



Poor Law Unions

Bury Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

British History Online Bury

Bury on GENUKI

References

  1. John Bartholomew,Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 3,645 times.