Bury St Mary, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes Gotoarrow.png

Guide to Bury St Mary, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is a Comprehensive List of Bury Chapelries and Parish
Bury St Mary, Lancashire
Bury St Mary Church.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn; Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bury PLU
Registration District Bury; Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURY (St. Mary), a borough, parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Salford, S. division, and partly in the Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division, of the county of Lancaster; comprising the chapelries of Edenfield, Heywood,and Holcombe, the hamlet of Ramsbottom, and the townships of Bury, Coupe with Lenches, Elton, Heap,Musbury, Tottington Higher-End, Tottington Lower End, and Walmersley with Shuttleworth; 48½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Lancaster, 9 (N.N. W.) from Manchester, and 195½ (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, New Connexion of Methodists, Presbyterians, Baptists, and Unitarians; and a Roman Catholic chapel, erected in the year 1840. [1]

The church was the garrison church for the Lancashire Fusiliers and colours of the Regiment hang proudly from their pikes around the walls of the nave.
The nave stands 76ft 6ins high, 84ft 6ins long and 30ft wide. The windows on the north wall depict Old Testament figures whilst the south windows are of New Testament figures. The detailed stonework includes over 150 heads, many said to represent members of the congregation and community. On the west wall are heads depicting the churchwardens, architect and clerk of works, whilst the Earl and Countess of Derby are to be found on the chancel arch.
Sharp eyed observers will find a “green man” in the decorative stone on the north wall. The west wall is inspired by Westminster Abbey, rising in four stages to the great rose window.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Bury St. Mary parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg
BURY ST MARY PARISH (1590) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1590-1698 1590-1698 1590-1698
AC 1590-1812 1590-1812 1590-1812
AC 1813-1915 1754-1854
FS 1590-1909 1591-1935 1785-1976
LOPC 1699-1844 1591-1849, 1860-1861 1699-1728, 1739-1748, 1759-1837
LBMD None 1837-1900 None
FMP None 1598-1760 None
FREG 1590-1698, 1817-1846 1591-1646 1591-1699
BURY HOLY TRINITY Chapelry  (1865) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1865-1881 1866-1880
FS 1865-1881 1866-1880 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1866-1900 None
BURY ST JOHN Chapelry  (1770) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1821-1906 1821-1874
FS 1785-1829, 1846-1852 None 1785-1812, 1819-1867
LOPC 1770-1859, 1879-1906 None 1784-1855
LBMD None 1861-1900 None
FREG 1820-1826 None 1843-1855
BURY ST PAUL Chapelry  (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1841-1915 1851-1930 1841-1976
FS 1841-1868 1877-1909 1843-1853, 1862-1868
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1851-1900 None
BURY ST PETER Chapelry Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1872-1914 1873-1930
BURY ST THOMAS Chapelry Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1867-1914 1867-1930
EDENFIELD Chapelry  (1728) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1728-1771, 1798-1845, 1857-1877 None 1774-1820
LOPC 1731-1845, 1857-1877 None 1774-1845, 1856-1877
LBMD None 1838-1900 1837-1861
ELTON ALL SAINTS Chapelry  (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1858-1867 None 1844-1846, 1858-1867
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1889 1844-1900 1837-1888
HEYWOOD ST LUKE Chapelry  (1731) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1731-1910 1837-1895 1765-1870
LOPC 1829-1842 None None
LBMD 1837-1940 1837-1900 1837-1974
HEYWOOD ST JAMES Chapelry  (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1841-1900 None
HOLCOMBE EMMANUEL Chapelry  (1730) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1797-1860 1850-1860 1853-1860
LOPC 1730-1860 1850-1860 1730-1902
LBMD 1837-1895 1837-1900 1837-1890
FREG None None 1846-1852
RAMSBOTTOM ST PAUL Chapelry  (1850) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1850-1854 None 1851-1854
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1899-1901 1850-1900 None
TOTTINGTON ST ANNE Chapelry  (1799) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1752-1754, 1770-1862 None 1791-1862
LOPC 1799-1838 None 1799-1838
LBMD 1837-1910 1862-1900 1837-1885
AC 1799-1837 None 1799-1837
UNSWORTH ST GEORGE Chapelry  (1730) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1730-1910 None None
LOPC 1841-1891 None None
LBMD None 1844-1900 None
WALMERSLEY CUM SHUTTLEWORTH CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry  (1785) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1785-1812, 1838-1842, 1860-1864 1785-1812 1785-1812, 1838-1841, 1858
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1898 1852-1900 1837-1877
WATERFOOT ST JAMES Chapelry  (1860) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1859-1914 1866-1930
FS 1860-1907 1866-1929 None
LBMD None 1866-1900 None

Original Records in Archives

Original parish and chapelry registers are held in the Manchester Archives and Studies centre in Manchester Central Library, St Peter's Square, Manchester, M2 2PD. Also, microfilm copies of these original registers are held at the Family Hsitory Library in Salt Lake City, UT, USA. See the Family History Library online Catalog for further details about their holdings.

Content Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials of Bury, 1603- 1641, 1662-1785. Includes baptisms and burials from St. John's, 1769-1785.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545462 Items 2-5
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1785-1812. Includes baptisms and burials from St. John's and St. Anne's (Tottington).
FHL BRITISH Film
1545463
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1813-1818. Includes baptisms and burials from St. John's and St. Anne's (Tottington). FHL BRITISH Film
1545464
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1819-1824. Includes baptisms and burials from St. John's and St. Anne's (Tottington). FHL BRITISH Film
1545465
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1825-1829. Includes baptisms and burials from St. John's and St. Anne's (Tottington). FHL BRITISH Film
1545466
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1830-1833. Includes baptisms and burials from St. John's and St. Anne's (Tottington). FHL BRITISH Film
1545467
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1834-1838. Includes baptisms and burials from St. John's and St. Anne's (Tottington). FHL BRITISH Film
1545468
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1839-1845. Includes baptisms and burials from St. John's, St. Anne's (Tottington) and Christchurch (Walmersley) from 1842. FHL BRITISH Film
1545469
Baptisms and burials, 1846-1853. Includes St. John's, St. Anne's (Tottington), St. Pauls from 1849 and Christchurch (Walmersley). FHL BRITISH Film
1545470
Baptisms and burials, 1854-1860. Includes St. John's, St. Anne's (Tottington), St. Paul's, Christchurch (Walmersley) and All Saints (Elton) from 1858. FHL BRITISH Film
1545471
Baptisms and burials, 1861-1873. Includes St. John's, St. Anne's (Tottington), All Saints (Elton), Christchurch (Walmersley), and St. Thomas, 1867-1873. FHL BRITISH Film
1545472
Baptisms and burials from St. Paul's, 1845-1846, and All Saints (Elton), 1843-1846; baptisms from St. Stephen's (Elton), 1882-1894. Also includes baptisms and burials from St. Luke's in the Chapelry of Heywood, 1807-1818. FHL BRITISH Film
1545473 Item 1
Baptisms and burials from St. Luke's Chapel in the Chapelry of Heywood, 1819-1828. FHL BRITISH Film
1545473 Item 2


|}

Census records

Genealogy

MacRae, David.  The MacRaes of Barwood Lee.  Family history and family tree of John McRae and Alice Johnson his wife, descending from 1779-1956. Other surnames Duncan, McLean, Oddie, McCray. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine, vol. 13. no.2, pages 30-37, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Burrows, Constance: Holt of Tottington: From a Family Bible. Family tree of James Holt and Jane Crampton married in Bury 1716, with the following descendant surnames. Wolfenden, Amphlett, Cunliffe, Roscow, scattered through, Prestwich, Bispham, and Whitefield, dating from 1716-1983, to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 10, no.4. pages 28-29.

Todd, Andrew A. Lowe of Heaton and Hinds. History and Family tree of Lowe of Heaton and Elton starting with Robert Lowe marrying 1. Alice Yates, and 2. Hannah Walls, dating 1784-1860, with the following surnames, Barlow, Wade, Nuttall, Garside, Settle, Blomley, Griffiths, Ogden, Blomley, Rushton, Pemberton. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine. vol.5,no.3,pages16-20, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Bury Poor Law Union, Lancashire Haslingden, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bury on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 452-460. Date accessed: 10 September 2013.London.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53011 British History Online Bury

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53012


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 15:07.
  • This page has been accessed 14,523 times.