Butler County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png  Alabama Gotoarrow.png  Butler County

Guide to Butler County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Butler County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Butler County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 13, 1819
County Seat Greenville
Courthouse
Butler County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Butler County Courthouse
700 Court Square,
Greenville, AL 36037
Phone:(334) 382-7166
Butler County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Courthouse burned April 1853
Probate Judge has birth and death records 1894-1919
Marriage, probate and land records [1]

History

Parent County

1819--Butler County was created 13 December 1819 from Conecuh and Monroe Counties.
County seat: Greenville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Fire.png
Butler County had a destructive courthouse fire in 1853. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  page 25 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Butler.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biography

Biographies of many notable residents of Butler County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 551.

  • Little, John Buckner. The History of Butler County, Alabama: From 1815 to 1885: With Sketches of Some of Her Most Distinguished Citizens and Glances at Her Rich and Varied Resources. Cincinnati: Elm St. Print. Co., 1885. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Cemeteries

Additional Butler County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

For tips on accessing Butler County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Historical populations
Year Pop.  %±
1820 1,405
1830 5,650 302.1%
1840 8,685 53.7%
1850 10,836 24.8%
1860 18,122 67.2%
1870 14,981 −17.3%
1880 19,649 31.2%
1890 21,641 10.1%
1900 25,761 19.0%
1910 29,030 12.7%
1920 29,531 1.7%
1930 30,195 2.2%
1940 32,447 7.5%
1950 29,228 −9.9%
1960 24,560 −16.0%
1970 22,007 −10.4%
1980 21,680 −1.5%
1990 21,892 1.0%
2000 21,399 −2.3%
2010 20,947 −2.1%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Butler County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Butler County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2006. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.137 E7bg.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Butler County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Little, John Buckner. The History of Butler County, Alabama 1815 to 1885. Cincinnati, Ohio: Elm St. Printing, 1885. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Little, John Buckner. The History of Butler County, Alabama: From 1815 to 1885: With Sketches of Some of Her Most Distinguished Citizens and Glances at Her Rich and Varied Resources. Cincinnati: Elm St. Print. Co., 1885. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

 Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Butler County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Butler County.

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company E "J. Powell's Dragoons"
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company H "Sandy Williams' Guards"
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company I
- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company E
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Greenville Guards"
- 9th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G "Jeff Davis Rangers"
- 17th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and K
- 17th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C (Butler Rifles)
- 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F (Tom Watts Rifles)
- 33rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C, D and H
- 58th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 59th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H and I
- 60th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 61st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C



Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Butler County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Butler County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Butler County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Butler County is in District 1.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
  • 1906-1910 - Greenville Birth Index 1906-1910. Batch C545462 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1906-1916 - Greenville Birth Index 1906-1916. Batch C545467 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1853–1870, 1913, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1853–1870 "Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1906-1910 - Greenville Death Index 1906-1910. Batch B545461 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1908-1914 - Greenville Death Index 1908-1914. Batch B545468 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Vital Record Substitutes

A free collection of obituaries and death notices from various funeral homes in the Butler County area has been put together by GenealogyBuffs:

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Butler County has one book.


Societies and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 35.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 25. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:11.
  • This page has been accessed 28,202 times.