Butler County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Butler County

Guide to Butler County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Butler County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Butler County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Allison
Courthouse
Address Butler County Courthouse
P. O. Box 325
Allison, IA 50602
Phone: (319) 267-2487
Butler County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Butler County Courthouse
P. O. Box 325
Allison, IA 50602

(319) 267-2487

Butler County

History

Parent County

1851--Butler County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. The county was attached to Buchanan and Black Hawk Counties prior to its organization 2 October 1854.  County seat:  Allison [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

  • Allison
  • Aplington
  • Aredale
  • Austinville
  • Bristow
  • Butler Center
  • Clarksville
  • Coster
  • Dumont
  • Eleanor
  • Greene
  • Kesley
  • New Albion
  • New Hartford
  • Packard
  • Parkersburg
  • Pilot Rock
  • Shell Rock
  • Sinclair
  • Swanton
  • Wilmar

Neighboring Counties

Black Hawk • Bremer • Cerro Gordo • Chickasaw • Floyd • Franklin • Grundy • Hardin

Butler CountyBremer CountyBlack Hawk CountyGrundy CountyHardin CountyFranklin CountyCerro Gordo CountyFloyd CountyChickasaw CountyWinneshiek CountyFayette CountyBuchanan CountyBenton CountyTama CountyMarshall CountyStory CountyHamilton CountyWright CountyHancock CountyWinnebago CountyWorth CountyMitchell CountyHoward CountyIAButler.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran

Butler County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Butler County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Parkersburg

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Parkersburg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. James Lutheran Church, Allison

  • Records of the St. James Lutheran Church, Allison, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Shell Rock

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Shell Rock, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Butler County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • History of Butler County Iowa: A Record of Settlement, Organization, Progress, and Achievement Vol. 1 [2]Volume 2 includes biographies.
  • History of Butler and Bremer counties, Iowa : together with sketches of their towns, villages and townships, educational, civil, military and political history ; portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens : History of Iowa, embracing accounts of the prehistoric race, and a brief review of its civil, political, and military history. Springfield, Illinois : Union Pub. Co., 1883.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Butler County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Butler County, Iowa:


- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company E

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives
  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Waterloo newspapers that may have included Butler County residents. This database is free at some libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Butler - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Butler County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "butler county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "butler county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "butler county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Butler County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Butler County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Butler County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Butler County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Butler County Message Board

Sources and Footnotes

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Hart, Irving H.; History of Butler County Iowa: A Record of Settlement, Organization, Progress, and Achievement Vol. 1, S.J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1914 Google Books WorldCat 6114539

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:41.
  • This page has been accessed 11,297 times.