Butler County, KansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kansas
Butler County
Butler County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Butler County, Kansas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Kansas | |
![]() Location of Kansas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | August 30, 1855 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | El Dorado |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Butler County Courthouse 200.W. Central Ave. El Dorado, Kansas 67042-2101 Phone: 316.322.4232 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Butler County Courthouse
200 W Central Avenue
El Dorado, KS 67042
Phone: 316.322.4232
County Clerk has birth and death records 1887-1912
and land records from 1887.
Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records. [1]
History
Parent County
1855--Butler County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: El Dorado [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Men from Butler county enlisted in the 9th Kansas Infantry Regiment, Company L.
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Butler County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Butler County, Kansas 248 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2013, at 01:52.
- This page has been accessed 1,265 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

