Butler County, NebraskaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nebraska
Butler County
Butler County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Butler County, Nebraska | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Nebraska | |
| Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska Location of Nebraska in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 26, 1856 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | David City |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Butler County Courthouse 451 5th Street David City, Nebraska 68632 Phone: 402.367.7430 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Butler County Courthouse
451 5th Street
David City, NE 68632
Phone: 402.367.7430
County Clerk has land records from 1869.
County Court has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records. [1]
History
Parent County
1856--Butler County was created 26 January 1856 from Greene County. County seat: David City [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Butler County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Butler County, Nebraska for European and African American settlers included:
- Platte River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[4]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[5]
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Butler County, Nebraska page 428, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
| This Nebraska-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 February 2013, at 15:13.
- This page has been accessed 1,076 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
