Butler County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Butler County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Butler County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Butler County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Butler County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Butler County Courthouse
101 High St.
Hamilton, Ohio 45011-2732
Butler County Website
Phone: 513.887.3278
United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.pngButler County

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1856
1803
1856

1803
1851
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Hamilton County 24 March 1803.[1]
  • County Seat: Hamilton


Neighboring Counties

Hamilton County  • Warren County  • Montgomery County  • Preble County  • Union County, Indiana  • Franklin County, Indiana  • Dearborn County, Indiana


Darke CountyBracken CountyCampbell CountyKenton CountyBoone CountyGallatin CountyOwen CountySwitzerland CountyOhio CountyRipley CountyDearborn CountyJefferson CountyTrimble CountyCarroll CountyFayette CountyUnion CountyWayne CountyHenry CountyFranklin CountyGrant CountyPendleton CountyMason CountyHamilton CountyClermont CountyClinton CountyBrown CountyPreble CountyGreene CountyMontgomery CountyWarren CountyClark CountyMiami CountyButler CountyOHButler.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
1912 -- Although the Butler County Courthouse was reported to have been destroyed by fire on March 14, 1912, it was really only the original, four-tiered, domed tower which was capped with a statue of Justice which was destroyed. The courthouse still stands and is being used today by the Probate Court. County records were saved by spectators and courthouse employees who carried them out of the building.[2]

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries



Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
181011,150
182021,74695.0%
183027,14224.8%
184028,1733.8%
185030,7899.3%
186035,84016.4%
187039,91211.4%
188042,5796.7%
189048,59714.1%
190056,87017.0%
191070,27123.6%
192087,02523.8%
1930114,08431.1%
1940120,2495.4%
1950147,20322.4%
1960199,07635.2%
1970226,20713.6%
1980258,78714.4%
1990291,47912.6%
2000332,80714.2%
2010368,13010.6%

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records
  • Hamilton
Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Butler County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Butler County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Butler County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohbutler.jpg

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Butler County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

The following is a list of newspapers published in Butler County through 1900.

Butler County Democrat. (Middletown, Ohio) 185?-185?
Butler County Democrat. (Hamilton, Ohio) 187?-1923
Butler County Democrat. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1870-1870
Butler County Democrat. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1874-19??
Butler County Democrat. And True Telegraph. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1870-1874
The Butler County Press. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1900-1946
The Butler County Signal. (Middletown, Ohio) 19??-19??
The College Corner Chronicle. (West College Corner, Ind.) 1891-190?
The Corner Stone. (College Corner [i.e. West College Corner], Ind.) 1872-187?
The Daily Journal. (Middletown, Ohio) 18??-18??
The Daily Press. (Rossville, Butler County, O. [Ohio]) 1851-1851
The Daily Republican-news. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1898-1919
The Daily Signal. (Middletown, Ohio) 1891-1907
Daily Telegraph. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1860-18??
Democracy Untrammeled, and Butler County Investigator. (Rossville, Ohio) 1849-1849
The Free Soil banner. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1848-1848
Hamilton Advertiser. (Hamilton, Butler County, Ohio) 1825-1826
Hamilton Daily Democrat. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1886-1897
Hamilton Daily Herald. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1885-1887
Hamilton Daily News. (Hamilton, [Ohio]) 1879-1898
The Hamilton Daily Republican. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1892-1898
Hamilton Evening Democrat. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1897-1907
The Hamilton Gazette & Miami Register. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1819-1821
The Hamilton Gooroo. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1876-19??
Hamilton Intelligencer. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1828-1837
Hamilton Intelligencer. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1840-1862
Hamilton Intelligencer & Advertiser. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1821-1825
The Hamilton Ohio Advertiser. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1826-1827
Hamilton Ohio Intelligencer. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1838-1840
Hamilton Register. (Hamilton, Ohio) 18??-????
Hamilton Socialist. (Hamilton, Ohio) 19??-19??
Hamilton Telegraph. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1847-1851
Hamilton Telegraph. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1853-1857
Hamilton Telegraph. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1861-19??
Hamilton True Telegraph. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1861-1870
Hamilton Weekly Telegraph. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1851-1853
Harrison Democrat. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1840-1840
The Hickory Club. (Rossville, Ohio) 1838-1838
The Hickory Club. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1840-1840
The Investigator. (Oxford, Ohio) 1886-18??
The Miami Democrat. (Rossville, Ohio) 1850-1851
Miami Echo, and the Hamilton and Rossville Advertiser. (Hamilton, Ohio ;) 1842-1842
The Miami Herald. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1817-1819
Miami Intelligencer. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1814-1816
The Miami Journal. (Miami University, Oxford, Ohio) 1886-18??
Miami Student. (Oxford, Ohio) 1867-current
The Middletown Daily Signal. (Middletown, Ohio) 18??-1891
Middletown Farmer. (Middletown, Ohio) 1840-1841
Middletown Herald. (Middletown, Butler County, Ohio) 1853-1855
The Middletown Journal. (Middletown, Ohio) 1891-current
Middletown Emblem. (Middletown, Butler County, Ohio) 1851-1853
The Middletown Journal. (Middletown, Ohio) 1857-1912
The Middletown Mail. (Middletown, [Ohio]) 1839-1840
The Middletown Signal. (Middletown, Ohio) 18??-19??
Murray's Weekly Volunteer. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1822-1825
The Ohio Independent Press. (Rossville, Butler County, Ohio) 1830-18??
The Oxford Advertiser. ([Oxford, Ohio]) 19??-19??
Oxford Chronicle. (Oxford, [Ohio]) 1834-18??
The Oxford Citizen. (Oxford, Ohio) 1854-1892
The Oxford Enterprise. (Oxford, Ohio) 1881-18??
The Oxford Leader. (Oxford, Ohio) 1882-18??
Oxford Lyceum and Journal of Literature and Science. (Oxford, Ohio) 1833-1834
The Oxford News. (Oxford, Ohio) 1886-1892
The Oxford News. (Oxford, Ohio) 1893-1909
Oxford News-Citizen. (Oxford, Ohio) 1892-1893
The Philanthropist. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1816-1817
The Reily Courier. (Reily, Ohio) 18??-19??
The Rossville Advertiser. (Rossville, Ohio) 1849-1849
The Scott battery. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1852-1852
The True Gazette. (Hamilton, O.) 187?-1???
The Volunteer. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1821-1822
Weekly Hamilton Telegraph. (Hamilton, [Ohio]) 1858-1861
The Western Telegraph. (Rossville [Hamilton], Ohio) 1836-1847

Western Round-Up (Western College, Oxford, Ohio) 1930-1971
Western Telegraph and Butler County Ohio Advertiser. (Rossville, [Ohio]) 1833-1836
Western Telegraph, and Hamilton Ohio Advertiser. (Hamilton, Ohio) 1827-1831 <br>


===== Finding More Ohio Newspapers =====


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Butler County, Ohio newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Butler County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Butler County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
  • 1811-1869 - community contributed wills Courtesy of OhioGenWeb Archives
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Butler County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Butler County Courthouse
315 High Street
Hamilton, OH 45011-2756
Phone: 513.887.3278 

County Health Department has birth and death records.
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records.
Court Clerk has divorce and court records.
County Auditor has land records.[1]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Butler County, Ohio is the  Fariefield/Hamilton Ohio Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Butler County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Butler County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Butler County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Butler County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm


Divorce


Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Butler County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

Places

Fairfield | Hamilton | Hanover Township | Lemon Township | Liberty | Middletown | Milford Township | Morgan Township | Oxford | Reily Township | Ross Township | St Clair Township | Wayne Township | West Chester Township

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 540, Butler County, Ohio. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Hamilton, OH Butler County Courthouse Fire, Mar 1912 at GenDisasters: Events that Touched Our Ancestors' Lives (accessed 20 September 2012).
  3. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 42,910 times.